Sweet Party Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
The reviews didn't lie. Addictive is the perfect word for it. Reminds me a bit of "Cracker Jacks" or whatever it was called with the popcorn and peanuts in the box with the prize. Next time I think I'll try adding some fresh popped corn along with the cereal and nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
DO NOT make this recipe if you are on a diet. I made this for my daughter's b-day party and it was sooo good and soooo addictive that I couldn't stop eating it. It also got rave reviews from all of the party guests. I will definitely make this mix again.....Also, I added M&Ms as suggested by some of the other reviewers, but I actually preferred it without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Not quite what I expected but very good. I really thought it would be sweeter. I made the syrup just as directed but did add some broken pretzel sticks, potato sticks, and toasted chopped almonds, walnuts & pecans. The trick to this is just to mix it in the roasting pan in the first place, then dump onto two sheets of parchment paper side-by-side on your table. It cools very quickly, allowing you to 'mix' it with your hands on the parchment. Thank you very much for this recipe! UPDATE: I just made this again, 1 1/2 years later and forgot I had made it before. My experience this time was much different, although I didn't really do anything significantly differently. I was really really awesomely good and addictive. I do have a convection oven now and wonder if that's why it came out a little chewier, though not sticky. LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHY S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kjm
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
With a few revisions, this was a great snack! I made the topping (syrup, brown sugar and butter) exactly as described. I did, however, switc up the ingredients a bit: Chex Mix cereal, cheerios, pretzels, salted peanuts and honey roasted peanuts. I threw it all in a disposable roasting pan, then sprinkled in M&Ms after it was done baking. Very sweet and addicting mix that everyone has loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
I have made this recipe several times and absolutely love it. It is very addicting once you start eating it. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
This is definitely addictive. Last year, I doubled the recipe, but forgot to double the sugar and corn syrup. It was buttery, crispy, and awesome! The previous year, I tried whole almonds, but slivered works better in this recipe. Large pecan pieces are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
OMG! Soooooo good! I added peanuts and cashews, and some mini smarties after it came out of oven and cooled.Try this one and you won't be sorry! Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Ruzycki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Yorkton, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I have made this several times for the holidays and now if I don't my family complains, so THANK YOU for the fun addition to our holiday treats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
I was a little disappointed with the recipe, which based on the reviews must have been something that I did. I didn't think it was anything special, and my 3-year-old daughter didn't like it either. It actually tasted best when they were still warm. I did add pretzels which was a mistake. I thought the pretzels were terrible. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hustisford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
Good flavor! I made the recipe as directed with the exception of using light corn syrup and dry roasted peanuts (what I had on hand); seemed like there was too much of the wet ingredients and kept pooling at the bottom of the pans. I had a hard time scraping it off after letting it cool, even though I had sprayed the pans with Pam; thus the 4-star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hesston, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fairbury, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States