Sweet Onion Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
Versatility is key. I used Swiss cheese and added diced Canadian bacon. The crust can be compared roughly to a matzoh ball dumpling-not soggy-it's really simple and delicious-if you like onions that is.*Made this recipe again. Used gouda, swiss and parm cheese, used heavy cream for added richness. Topped it with heirloom maters, fresh herbs and voila! PERFECT and everyone loves it - even when they think they won't like onion pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Delicious! I made this into a heart healthy recipe. I used smart balance butter, low fat milk, low fat shredded cheese, 1 egg + egg whites and no crackers. I also added diced yellow and green bell peppers and 1/2 tbsp sugar. Definitely try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Loved this crust! Used it for a different recipe. I did cook it a little before I filled it, as per some of the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Fantastic recipe! This has become a staple in my home. My boyfriend loves it, his whole family loves it, our friends...actually, I've gotten a thumbs up all the way around so far. I've been asked numerous times for this recipe. My only substitution (because I knew I couldn't go wrong with it) is that I used half & half instead of whole milk. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VANESSA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Lakes, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Delish! I made this with grilled pork tenderloin and a caesar salad and it was a hit! We ate every last bit of it! I took the advice of others and baked the cracker crust for a few minutes before filling with the other ingredients and it turned out great- not soggy at all! I also did not have whole milk on hand, so I used about half a cup of 1% milk and a quarter cup of half and half and it was fine. Next time, I will experiment with some other cheeses, too. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Carmel, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Fabulous just as it is! Looks and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denitomi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I made this because I had some onions I needed to use, and it came out wonderful. It has a great flavor and makes a nice side dish. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Verde Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Great pie. My hubby LOVED it. Even ate the last piece cold right out of the frigde. Will most definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roscoe, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Very good recipe! My family loved it and asked for more...I will definitely make this again. It was delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Coral Gables, Florida, USA
Living In: Thomasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I'm not a fan of onions but I made this pie and LOVED it!! Hubby loved it so much he ate half of it himself! I had to make some adjustment ... didn't have enough crackers to make the base so I threw in 1/2 cup of bread crumbs & there was a leek in the fridge so I sliced that up and added it to the onions and garlic - turned out brilliant, will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Basel, Basel, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States