Sweet Onion Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2001
DeeeLish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2001
This dish has very goos flavor and is pretty easy to make. However, it is a bit greasy and you need to let it stand for a short time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
This was wonderful!! Not for everyone though. I had a lot of people who were kind of afraid to try it but those who did absolutely raved about it. It needs to sit a while before cutting for the best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stuart, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bassett, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
I was very pleased with this recipe. The crust was a little thick, so next time I will use less crackers, maybe by 1/4 cup. My husband loved it. The onion taste wasn't too strong. It was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEWIN76

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
This is very good; the onions come out nice and sweet. I recommend one significant change, however: baking the crumb crust for several minutes before adding the onions and egg/milk mixture, otherwise it ends up soggy. Also, you can switch up what type of cheese you use or add slices of tomato on top for an attractive presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
This was great. I had to send the recipe off to 4 different people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
Very Yummy, and a diffrent side to play with :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
Versatility is key. I used Swiss cheese and added diced Canadian bacon. The crust can be compared roughly to a matzoh ball dumpling-not soggy-it's really simple and delicious-if you like onions that is.*Made this recipe again. Used gouda, swiss and parm cheese, used heavy cream for added richness. Topped it with heirloom maters, fresh herbs and voila! PERFECT and everyone loves it - even when they think they won't like onion pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Loved this crust! Used it for a different recipe. I did cook it a little before I filled it, as per some of the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Fantastic recipe! This has become a staple in my home. My boyfriend loves it, his whole family loves it, our friends...actually, I've gotten a thumbs up all the way around so far. I've been asked numerous times for this recipe. My only substitution (because I knew I couldn't go wrong with it) is that I used half & half instead of whole milk. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VANESSA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Lakes, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States