Sweet Onion Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I agree with the people who said this needs to sit before serving, like 15 minutes at least. Next time I'll use less milk too, I don't like my pie or quiche so watery. Flavor was excellent though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Thank you Andi. A wonderful recipe that will be made many, many times. We loved it. My hubby is very fussy and he went back for seconds. I noticed some said their crust was soggy. I used a regular pie crust, baked at 375 degrees F for 35 minutes then dropped down to 350 degrees for 10 more minutes. It was perfect in every way and I cannot say enough thanks for it. Yummo :-) Bev
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
This is excellent! Followed it mostly to the letter but chopped the onion rather than sliced into rings. I also baked the crust for 10 minutes before adding the filling as suggested. Might try bacon added to the mixture next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
By far one of the best hot side dishes I have had, ever! I couldn't stop eating it! Definitely a great side dish for a wide array of main meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Codez
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Excellent! It was a hit on Thanksgiving! I followed the recipe with the exception of using a mixture of white onion, red/purple onion & shallots and white cheddar cheese I will for sure be making this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Codez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Very good, and easy! I pre-baked the crust as one reviewer suggested, earlier in the day. Mixed the rest of the ingredients and kept them in the frig. (Chopped the onions, rather than sliced them for easier eating). Put it together and baked it while company was having cocktails. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luvmykids
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I made this because someone gave me a big bag of onions and I wanted to use them up. I did not have fresh chives or fresh parsley but I can imagine that it would only enhance this even more. My crust was not as firm as I would have liked and I even baked it for 5 minutes before adding the other ingredients. I added sliced Roma tomatoes on top and they tasted yummy. My mom was over for dinner and loved this pie so I will most likely be making this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmykids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Was very yummy. My parents loved it and asked me to make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Made this last night for dinner and it turned out wonderful. My husband raved about it, my 2 year old ate it (he left the pork chop & salad, but ate this), and I was able to eat it without it upsetting my stomach (I am 13 weeks pregnant)! I took some of the leftovers today to work and it reheated very well. The only change I made was to use evaporated milk in place of the whole milk since I was already opening a can for another recipe. This is defintely something I will make again!! Great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Lion, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This is very delicious if you like onions. I've made it 5 times already and it comes out perfect every time! Sometimes I add a little chaynne pepper to the onion mixture to make it a little more spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States