Sweet Onion Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
My husband and I liked this for an occasional side dish. Just got shriners onions and needed to cook some up. Halved the recipe and used a small pie pan. Used Ritz crackers for the crust and half & half instead of milk (because that's what I had) and followed the recipe the rest of the way. Sweet and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WITTZEND1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
We like this. Only made once, found the onion filling to be a little bland, but we like lots of flavour to our food. If I made again I may add more garlic or seasonings. I don't think I would make the crust again. Cooked before I added filling and was soggy. I may skip the crust altogether or use a pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
If you love sweet onions, you will love this!! I did bake the crust for about 5 minutes as others suggested , turned out delicious. Served with grilled pork chops and a fruit salad. Couldn't ask for a better dinner and everyone loved it. Thanks so much for sharing, Andi !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candice
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I made one substitution to the ingredient list, and followed the recipe exactly. I used a store-bought pie crust in a pie tin, because I had two in the freezer I needed to use. This dish was just downright delicious! My husband asked me if I put sugar in it. I used Sweet Vidalia Onions and carmelized them per the instructions, so I'll assume that's the reason it was so sweet. We both loved this dish and so did DD Christine NICU-RN. I will be making again very soon.... until the end of the Vidalia Onion season and those sweet gems are no longer in my local super market. Also, I don't think I will try the buttery cracker crust. I don't need to. It was good using the premade crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This is a quick and easy recipe. After you saute the onions and then they bake in the oven, you really understand why the recipe title starts with sweet. We added some cajun seasoning. Maybe extra sharp cheddar?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This will become a family staple! To reduce the calories, I left out the crust and just made it as a pudding. It was sensational and easy. Actually, I "sweated" the onions but don,t believe that,s necessary. Trust me, try this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This is much better after sitting awhile, especially when refrigerated and reheated. We did not like the crust at all, despite pre-baking it. The 'filling' was alright. I opted to caramelize half of the onions (with the addition of balsamic at the end to scrap of the stuck on bits), used more garlic, more cheese and added some fresh rosemary. I think I'll stick to regular quiche though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Photo by brunoite
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Very tasty! I used a 9" quiche pan but I think a 8" square glass pan would make it easier to remove the portions (thicker also). I used 2 sliced vidalia onions which made more than 2 cups. This can be made ahead (crust and onion part) and refrigerated, then add liquid part when needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I felt that the pie was a little too tasteless and too greasy. If I made this again, I would cut back on the butter and choose a stronger tasting cheese like smoked Gouda or even Swiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This recipe was just ok for me. My husband however loved it. I just think I would have liked something else in there besides onion. I almost added some zucchini to the onions and garlic while they were softening but I wanted to try the recipe as is. I liked the cracker crumb crust and the ratio of egg milk and cheese was perfect. May try again with some additional ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States