Sweet Onion Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Made for recipe group 3/23/13. WE loved this. Made to go with steak and it was a great combo. I cut recipe in 1/2 and it was a perfect amount to only have just a little leftover. I was thinking some nutmeg for the next time but no changes are necessary really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Photo by Karl Weinsteiger
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Did a little crying peeling all those onions but it was well worth it. Made recipe as is. I am thinking I will try it with some sour cream on top as I serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karl Weinsteiger

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bozrah, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Recipe Group Selection: 23, March 13 ~ Loved it! Do I think more spices could be added for extra seasoning, absolutely. I also think more rice could be added to the dish as it seemed to get lost in 3#’s of onions. But my DH and I did enjoy the simple taste of this dish. I ran the onions and the Swiss cheese through the food processor to help speed up the process. This dish makes A LOT if you make the full batch. My 2 qt. casserole dish must not have been deep enough, as I had run-overs in the oven. Enough spillage, that I’m thankful for the self-cleaning feature on my oven. My parents also enjoyed this side dish. I re-purposed the leftovers into a breakfast casserole that I was making the next night. It worked great and added delicious flavor to ‘Slow Cooker Western Omelet’ from AR. Thanks Bobbie for sharing your recipe, I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Made this for Recipe Group...We thought this was very good! After reading the reviews, I decided to add a few things...I sauteed garlic w/ the onion (cooked in butter and a bit of evoo). I also used a mix of swiss, Ballyshannon and parmesan cheeses, which gave this a great flavor. I looked really 'white' while I was mixing everything together, so I threw in some parsley for a little color. This had a really nice flavor, and I would make it again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by bigcountry
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Husband said we could make this again sometime. Did add some red pepper flakes for flavor. After in oven, I wished I would have thought to have added mustard powder as I think it would have went well with the swiss cheese flavor. Served with grilled pork chops and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigcountry
Photo by eecaule
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I thought this was really delicious with a couple additions. Another review said it needed some spice so I added 3 minced garlic cloves when the onion were almost done cooking. I also added a T. or so fresh parsley, salt (not 1 & 1/2 t.) and pepper to taste. I would probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eecaule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This was good, but couldve been better. It just wasnt creamy enough. we had it with a cauliflower au gratin and mixed together were fabulous. If i do decide to make it again i will make a gravy with the half and half and swiss. Try it, but make a roux with the half&half and some chicken broth/stock and then mix in the swiss then add in the onions and rice-it will be fantastic:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
It was very delicous. The only thing I added was 4 cloves of garlic and I used regular white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RevConrad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Recipe Group selection 3/23/13. Sorry, I am late with my reviews. Having read the consistent comment that this was bland, I made one minor addition. As I assembled the dish for baking I added a good amount of fresh, coarsly ground black pepper. Somehow that showcased my (very pricy) sweet Vidalia onions. We all liked it and will have it again. Thanks, Bobbie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This recipe was the March 23, 2013 Recipe Group Selection. I thought this was a nice side dish that complimented the Flat Iron Steak with Balsamic Reduction I had made. Although I was pleased it didn’t compete with the flavors of the steak, I felt it could have had a little more jazz. It was just a little too bland for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States