Sweet Onion Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I could not bring myself to use a whole 3# bag of sweet onions for just my boyfriend and I, so I just used about half (4 large onions). I reduced the salt for fear that 1 1/2 tsps. would make it too salty. The half and half combined with the swiss cheese made for a fluffy, almost egg-like texture that I liked quite a bit. But, I found the casserole almost too sweet. The other ingredients were not savory enough to contrast the sweetness. Perhaps cooking the rice in a chicken broth and adding spices might help with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eecaule
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I thought this was really delicious with a couple additions. Another review said it needed some spice so I added 3 minced garlic cloves when the onion were almost done cooking. I also added a T. or so fresh parsley, salt (not 1 & 1/2 t.) and pepper to taste. I would probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eecaule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This was good, but couldve been better. It just wasnt creamy enough. we had it with a cauliflower au gratin and mixed together were fabulous. If i do decide to make it again i will make a gravy with the half and half and swiss. Try it, but make a roux with the half&half and some chicken broth/stock and then mix in the swiss then add in the onions and rice-it will be fantastic:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
It was very delicous. The only thing I added was 4 cloves of garlic and I used regular white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RevConrad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Photo by bigcountry
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Husband said we could make this again sometime. Did add some red pepper flakes for flavor. After in oven, I wished I would have thought to have added mustard powder as I think it would have went well with the swiss cheese flavor. Served with grilled pork chops and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigcountry
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This recipe was the March 23, 2013 Recipe Group Selection. I thought this was a nice side dish that complimented the Flat Iron Steak with Balsamic Reduction I had made. Although I was pleased it didn’t compete with the flavors of the steak, I felt it could have had a little more jazz. It was just a little too bland for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Made for recipe group 3/23/13. WE loved this. Made to go with steak and it was a great combo. I cut recipe in 1/2 and it was a perfect amount to only have just a little leftover. I was thinking some nutmeg for the next time but no changes are necessary really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Photo by kbwmachine
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Did a little crying peeling all those onions but it was well worth it. Made recipe as is. I am thinking I will try it with some sour cream on top as I serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbwmachine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bozrah, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This had nice onion flavor. The rice wasn't very noticeable and the swiss flavor wasn't really there. I used leftover rice so put it in frozen to prevent over cooking. This way baked in 30 minutes. We didn't care for this as a side dish. I wasn't sure what the texture and rice onion ratio would really end up like when I started this but it seemed like just a big pile of onions. This is probably preference and I thought it might be the case so I made it with chile verde tacos. It was a nice topping for the tacos and I would make it for that use again with a couple of tweaks. Made this for recipe group 3/25/13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Made this for Recipe Group...We thought this was very good! After reading the reviews, I decided to add a few things...I sauteed garlic w/ the onion (cooked in butter and a bit of evoo). I also used a mix of swiss, Ballyshannon and parmesan cheeses, which gave this a great flavor. I looked really 'white' while I was mixing everything together, so I threw in some parsley for a little color. This had a really nice flavor, and I would make it again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States