Sweet Onion Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
This is a great simple recipe for quality ground beef (not a lot of fillers). To make a juicy burger I suggest grating the onions for mixing into the meat. Not only does this give you the onion flavor, but it prevents chunks from falling into your grill/fry pan and makes the burgers juicy. For a pound, however I would only use half an onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
Oh yeah! SO GOOD! My husband and I forgot about onion burgers, and now that the SWEET Vidalia and Walla Walla onions are in the store you have got to try these! He sometimes adds a bit of green bell pepper and worcestershire sauce to the mix. We have used regular white or yellow onions too, but we use less onion because the flavor is so strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2000
They are best with Vadalias.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
Yum! We were in burger heaven tonight!! I chopped the onion really fine and followed the recipe from there. They were GREAT! I doubled the amount of meat- kept the onions / seasoning the same. I won't make a burger again without sweet onions! We had some American cheese, dill pickles, mayo and ketchup on toasted rolls. YUM! YUM! YUM!! Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
We love vidalias so these are perfect! Be sure to chop the onion into small bits so the burgers shape better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
man what a pain it was to get in the onions, just a typical burger i think. It still needed tons of ketchup to taste good to me. nothing special about this recipie, burger is to plain to eat without a dressing imo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oddball8945

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Avenel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
I tripled the recipe, but there was no way I could EVER get three chopped up onions into that meat!! I think I was able to get about 1.5 in, total. I agree with Wilemon, more seasonings! And maybe a bit of liquid... ours turned out a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
Excellent!!! I used ground turkey instead of ground beef. They tasted like they were beef but they were not turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2000
Oh WOW ! MMmmmmmm ! What else can I say ?!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2004
This was good, but we thought it needed more seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States