Sweet Onion BBQ Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
do not like the wording in the recipe. i made the mistake of mixing the bbq sauce with burger ingredients, and that led to the burgers falling apart when grilled. im sure they would have turned out better, had i made them correctly. if you want to try this recipe, be sure that you want an extra sweet burger. it was almost too sweet, and i didnt even end up making the the sauce topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
I have never been a fan of bbq sauce, but I made these for guests and they were fantastic! The only change I made was mixing in 1/2 cup bbq sauce into the burger mix instead of spreading on top just because I made them a few hours ahead of time and stacked them between pieces of foil. I also had bacon on hand so I put 2 slices on each burger. Will be making these often this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarDuJour

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
These are delicious! I used less BBQ sauce and just mixed it right in the burger - they were moist and juicy and awesome. I ended up with way more onions than we wanted to top the burgers with, so I'd make less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kylie Worthington

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Best Burger EVER!! I followed the recipe exactly, but I chose pan frying vs grilling. Its worth the marination step DONT SKIP it. The portion of onions may seem like a bit much but after you try them its not enough. A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This was an extraordinary burger. A little messy trying to eat it and hard to keep sauce off your fingers, but hey, it was delicious! I didn't have onion salt so I used half onion powder and half sea salt and made my own. I used Bullseye Kansas City style sauce and shredded cheese. DH outdid himself on the grill with this burger. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Very good burgers!!! I really enjoyed the onions on top, really added to it. The BBQ sauce I used was BullsEye sweet & sticky....awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
5 stars is not enough for how good these are! I only used egg yolks so that I wasn't adding too much moisture to the meat mixture. I also used homemade breadcrumbs so that I wouldn't get a super dry texture to the burger. Just amazing. Definitely use smoked cheddar...the depth of flavor is essential. Oh, I also used about 1/8 c. of agave nectar in the onions in lieu of the honey so that it lowered the glycemic index of this indulgence! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I do not care for legitimate complaints about a recipe being edited. If there is no point in the 1 1/4 cups of barbecue sauce listed in the patty portion of the ingredients, perhaps it should not be there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Way too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
For the most part I made this recipe as written - I changed the smoked cheddar to provolone (what I had on hand). Here are the issues I had when making these burgers: it says to mix the crumbs, onion salt & brown sugar, then add the egg, crumble in the beef & mix. This method made it very hard to get the bread crumbs mixed in evenly, I had to really work it into the beef and the burgers ended up quite "compact" - my method would be to crumble the beef into a shallow dish, sprinkle the crumbs, onion salt & brown sugar over it, then pour the beaten egg over it and mix as little as possible, and form into burgers. I liked the marinating in BBQ sauce, but the minute I put them on the grill over meadium heat the sauce started to burn, so I turned the heat off on that side and turned the other side up to high (indirect heat method). That worked well. We didn't even use half of the sauce mixture, so I would recommend cutting that down. Now the onion topping: What a mess. I usually carmelize onions with a little bit of sugar, and I was wishing I had just gone about it my usual way. These turned out way too sweet, with too much "sauce" in with the onions. Very sloppy. I threw them away, and we waited to eat until I had done my usual carmelized onions: 2 large onions, 3 Tbsp. butter, and 2 Tbsp. sugar. Other than these changes, hubby and I both loved these, and I'll make them again! Good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States