Sweet 'n' Spicy BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
This recipe was ok. The molasses over powered the other flavours. I had to doctor up this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpena, Michigan, USA
Living In: Flint, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
excellent recipe thanks so much for sharing no longer will I ever buy the sauce again... I did not add the water or the corn syrup it didn't need it.. but did spice it up with cayenne pepper thanks my family just loved it.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I really like the taste of this, but wish it was a little thicker. Next time I will not add the 1/2 cup water. Great recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This recipe was very well liked at our house. I used it in a crockpot with boar ribs. It helped cut through the gaminess really well. I had to make a few variations. I used 3/4 cups honey and 1/2 a cup of maple syrup instead of the corn syrup. The maple syrup gave the sauce a lovely depth of flavor. I also traded the cider vinegar for a local champagne vinegar I had on hand. I also omitted the liquid smoke. Thanks for the terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I'm from Texas and I love my barbeque. I made this sauce to go with pulled pork that I made. The flavor of this sauce was good, but I found the consistency to be too thin. I also didn't have any onion salt or celery salt, but to spice it up I added some crushed red pepper to taste. I will make it again but this time omit the water and maybe add some more molasses and maybe a little cornstarch to thicken it up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
this one has become a family favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This BBQ Sauce recipe is THE best!!! I was looking for one without soy sauce and found it! I even made 4 copies so I wouldn't lose it. I doubled the recipe the first time and froze it for later. Had some on the side for dunking chicken in. Family LOVED it. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
It was too sweet for my liking but it became better with age, I cooked it with some chicken cubes in it and I left out the corn syrup... not bad but I dont think I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This sauce rocks. Both of our kids have trouble with soy digestion, so it was nice to find a bbq sauce that doesn't contain soy at all. It's pretty obvious, but the cook time doesn't include the time to get the stuff to a boil. Also, learn from me, start with a pot that's at least 3.5 qt. I had to relocate the sauce from a 3qt pan to a 3.5 qt to give it some space.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyLu

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States