Sweet-n-Sour Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Just made this today as an appetizer for a birthday party and it was a big hit. I mixed the chili sauce and jelly (used Welch's grape, no red currant at my grocery store); heated it to a simmer on the stove top. Tossed in the kielbasa pieces to heat still on the stovetop while I got dressed. Transferred it to the crockpot, took it to the party and got quite a few compliments. I forgot to add the red pepper flakes-- which was probably lucky as it turns out. Several people asked before tasting it "is it spicy?" So I think the red pepper would have made it less appealing to more than a few people. The chili sauce mixed with jam gave a good balanced flavor, not too spicy and not too sweet. Hard to guess tasting it the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Eimann Coleman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I used fresh chopped onions in this recipe. I wanted it to be a comfort food sandwich. It reminds me of a bologna dish my mom made when I was growing up. I love Kielbasa because it is so versatile., and this recipe allows for creativity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Somerset, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Wonderfully fast and easy...had all ingredients on hand and will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I didn't really care for it. I would prefer to make it with BBQ sauce and grape jelly. My husband really liked it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I followed the recipe as given. It was well received. BUT I have to change things. Instead of the sweet and sour sauce, I use a bottle of Sweet Baby Ray Hickery and Brown Sugar BBQ sauce. I add an 8 ounce can of pinapple chunks with juice and about a 1/4 cup Port wine to rinse out the BBQ sauce bottle. And add liquid to cover if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I thought it was ok but wife didn't like it at all. Not good enough that would make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Instead of a big dinner at Christmas, because there are sooo many of us we do appetizers! This was very good! I think when I make it again I will cut back on the red pepper flakes to please everyone's taste. The kids and the elderly thought it a bit spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellygirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shabbona, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Very good recipe where you can use what you have on hand.I used smoked sausages and spicy kielbasa. I did not have red currant jelly so I used a cup of homemade green grape jelly. Also did not have chili ketchup, so I used reg ketchup and spiced it up with a 1/4 cup homemade Thai sweet chili sauce with added 1/4 cup small frozen berries w/pomegranate in the pot ,but I omitted the water and the flakes since the Thai sweet chili sauce was spicy already.Added one finely diced red pepper for extra flavour. Also fried up the sausages like one of the reviewers said and it turned out fantastic. No leftovers and so glad I tried this with our roast dinner. The sweet sauce was great on the roast beef and on the mashed carrot/potatoes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Made this last night-It was great and the kids lovvved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I have been making this for years, and it's always the first to go. I use grape jelly, and I always brown the sliced kielbasa in a skillet to render some of the fat. A super simple winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fitchburg, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

See how to turn three ingredients into an addictive little sausage appetizer.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States