Sweet 'n' Hot Glazed Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by kelcampbell
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
I made this salmon last night for supper and the end result was really good. I didn't rate it 5 stars for a few reasons: I didn't find the sauce "hot" enough (a little more cayenne next time), the cooking time was a bit off (we cooked for about 4 minutes longer than the max. time in the recipe) and lastly, if you like the taste of fish, this dish probably isn't for you as the flavour of the sauce really overpowers the salmon. We will make this dish again in all liklihood, but with a few minor changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
The apricots were less "chunky" than I thought they'd be after reducing the sauce. Good balance of sweet and spicy. I baked my salmon at 400F for 20-25 minutes (no turning) to cook it along with some roasted veggies and the glaze still browned up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
Love the apricots and spices paired with the salmon, plus this dish is quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I reduced this recipe down to a single serving (4 oz fish), so eyeballed all of the measurements. I substituted apricot jam for dried apricots, dried ginger for fresh, and garlic powder for cloves. The recipe was delicious and didn’t overwhelm the fish. It was pretty good broiled, but I think this recipe would best compliment grilled salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janell the Great

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
We loved this recipe! I served it w/ rice. This will be one of my special dinners when I have company or dinner parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
UPDATE: I've been making this for years now and have a few tips: (1) definitely line your pan with foil as it is very messy; (2) I triple the sauce and freeze in 1 cup amounts in freezer bags. Sure makes for a lot less work when I go to make it again, AND I use up all the ingredients on the spot! If I had been alone I would have licked the plate!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
This recipe was GREAT!!! The only thing I changed was I doubled the amount of cayenne pepper. I prefer the extra kick. Will definately make again. Thanks!! (I agree that the pan should be foil lined as the mixture caramelizes and can be VERY difficult to remove!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ashland, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
I made this for company. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
Made this after a long day at work - was glad to have a relatively easy and delicious recipe! Added a little over double the cayenne pepper, based on reviews. That really brought out the "hot." My husband loved this dish. Will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
Good but I could just taste the sweet. Should have listened to other reviewers and added more cayenne pepper to get the hot. Next time I will add more pepper. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI

Displaying results 91-100 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet 'n' Hot Glazed Salmon

See how to make simple broiled salmon with a sweet and spicy glaze.

Broiled Herb-Crusted Salmon

Watch Chef John make a simple and delicious broiled herb-crusted salmon.

Miso Maple-Glazed Salmon

Watch Chef John prepare a super-easy salmon dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States