Sweet 'n' Hot Glazed Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
You can't go wrong with this recipe. I did alter it quite a bit by using apricot jam instead of the fruit and nectar. I also added some grated lemon peel and a scant teaspoon of prepared horseradish and increased the soy sauce to taste. Using apricot perserves, the 2 teaspoons of honey was a little too sweet for my liking. Next time I might even skip the honey altogether. Anyway, at this point I felt the glaze needed an extra layer of flavor, so I added a splash of sesame oil. That did it! I put the salmon in a glass dish, poured 1/2 the sauce over it, backed it for 15 minutes, turned it and baked it for 14 minutes longer.I served the remaining sauce on the side. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
A great recipe and easy to make too. I only had 1 cup of apricot nectar, so I made the rest of the 1 1/2 cups up with apple juice. The rest of the recipe I kept as is. I also used the same glaze for tofu to accommodate our mixed family. The tofu was out of this world - the best I have ever had. What I did was dredged slices of tofu (about 1/2 inch or maybe a little less) in cornstarch. Then I sauteed them in a little bit of vegetable oil. a few minutes on each side until golden. Then I added a little of the glaze, and cooked it for a few more minutes. Vegetarian heaven! The only thing I will do differently next time is add more cayenne, as the hot was really not that evident (and I don't really like too much hot). Thanks for a great recipe that suits our whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Basset Hound Mommy
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I replaced the apricot nectar with 1 c. apricot preserves mixed with ½ c. water and omitted almost all the honey since the preserves had plenty of sweetness to them. I used close to ½ T. dried ginger instead of fresh and used pre-minced garlic to save time. Next time, I will cook as directed and just give the fish one final basting right before it comes out of the oven. Hubby loved this recipe, so I'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Basset Hound Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This was easy to make and delicious both nights we had it. I also used apricot jelly instead of nectar and omitted the dried fruit. We grilled the salmon the first time we made it and broiled the fish for just a minute before serving. I covered the remaining (uncooked) salmon we had with the leftover glaze and let it marinate overnight wrapped in foil. We baked it in the oven at 350 degrees the next night and was amazing. I have also tried to make the glaze with pineapple jelly, it was good but not as good, we are going to try peach jelly next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
***COMPANY WORTHY*** My husband could not stop raving about this recipe. I used apricot jelly instead of the nectar and I chopped some canned apricots instead of the dried. After I topped the salmon with the apricot glaze, I baked it at 375 degrees for 18 minutes - - PERFECT! Add more cayenne if you like things a bit more spicy. Oh, and line your baking pan with foil for easier clean-up. This was a fantastic recipe, Zbugg11!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
This is pretty great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Here's a tip: you can use 3/4 cup apricot preserves and 1/4 cup water instead of the apricot nectar, dried apricots and water, keeping all the other ingredients the same, then just heat everything in the microwave for a minute or so. No need to simmer it on the stove for 20 minutes. Also, I just poured all the sauce over my salmon fillets (I had 2 big fillets totaling a little over a pound) in a foil lined pan, then baked them at 375 for 15 minutes. Turned out very yummy and the extra sauce in the pan is great over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2009
I made this recipe and it was delicious! Even my boyfriend, who "hates" salmon, liked it. I didn't have any dried apricots so I left them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Excellent - had a great time preparing this dish with my 21 year old son !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Thumbs Up, tastebud tantelizing an simple!! Used apricot preserves/apple jelly, omitted dried apricots, nectar and honey. Also added a few shakes of red pepper flakes. Fresh garlic and fresh ginger essential. Baked 375 for 15-20 min., then broiled 3 min. for more browning. Moist and so flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet 'n' Hot Glazed Salmon

See how to make simple broiled salmon with a sweet and spicy glaze.

Broiled Herb-Crusted Salmon

Watch Chef John make a simple and delicious broiled herb-crusted salmon.

Miso Maple-Glazed Salmon

Watch Chef John prepare a super-easy salmon dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States