Sweet Marie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
I love this receipe, I have been making this receipe for years and have always wanted to add this receipe. I also add 1 tbsp of butter or margarine to the sauce pan when I am melting the peanut butter mixture. I also add 1/2 cup of spanish nuts (peanuts with brown skins on) to receipe before I add the rice krispies. This is amazing, I always make at xmas time or when ever I need to bring squares for an occassion. They are always the first to go
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
Most desserts aren't too sweet for me, and this one almost was! It was way too sweet for my husband. I used different cereal I had on hand and it worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
Very sweet bars but the icing ingredients were more like a glaze which would not solidify. I refrigerated the bars in their pan but the glaze just stayed as liquid that soaked through. Very tasty though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windedmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northborough, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
These are THE BEST! I made them for my brother who is allergic to all dairy products and eggs. (I didn't make the icing- only the bars.) All I can really say is... YUM!!! The peanut butter flavor wasn't too intense and the crunch of the cereal and the smoothness of the peanut butter were the perfect combination. Because my brother is allergic to just about everything in the icing, I dusted the top with confectioners' sugar and cocoa. Thanks for the fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
These are my husbands absolute favorite. I have to make them at least every 2 weeks or he pouts. They are sssoooooo.. good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schreiber, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
A big hit with everyone and definately one I will make often although I doubled the recipe. No point in going to that work for a small batch. Too yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
A good dessert but way too sweet for me. No problems with the recipe and it came out perfect - just a personal taste difference. I thought the recipe would have a stronger peanut butter taste but would recommend this to anyone who wants a dessert that is so sweet it's candy-ish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
These are delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
These were really yummy! I added an extra 1/2 C of cereal, just seemed to be a lot of coating. I also added an extra t. of cocoa powder to the glazed to make it a bit more chocolatey. Only the very top of the glaze hardened and underneath was a bit soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
What a nice treat! This was a very quick and simple recipe. I found the icing hard to smooth out but I used my majic bullet to mix together and it came out smooth. The only problem I had was that I did not solidify, still was pretty runny even after it sat for over an hour. I also tasted the butter heavily, next time I make them I will use 1/2 the butter called for. Overall, easy and tastey snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Mateo, California, USA
Living In: Portage, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States