Sweet Marie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
pretty yummy. way too much frosting, it was too sweet. i scraped it off. next time, im going to sprinkle chocolate chips on top the mixture while its warm, then spread it out instead of the frosting. it will probably last longer that way, and it will taste much better. very good recipe. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ProudMommyof2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
These were ok. I used only 1-1/2 T milk and the icing was the perfect consistency. I also put them in the frig for about 15 minutes to set up. If I make them again, I would prefer a more chocolate-y icing...more cocoa or maybe the chocolate chips other reviewers recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
It's pretty good for something that takes only a few minutes. I hate when frosting tastes like powdered sugar so i double the cocoa in it and added a little vanilla. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.maughan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellsville, Utah, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I made a double batch and used a 9x13 pan. The recipe just says to melt the first 3 ingredients. I actually let them bubble a minute or so and would let them bubble longer the next time so they would set up a little firmer, but that's just a consistency preference of mine. I added an extra 1/2 c. peanut butter to the double batch as I love peanut butter and for the topping, I melted 2 Hershey milk chocolate bars and drizzled them over the top. I used the rice cereal, but think I may try them with corn flakes the next time. They're a delicious addictive sort of treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
These are very good. I went exactly by the recipe and my family really likes these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I sent these to my husband in Iraq, and he told me that these got gobbled up before the rice crispy treats did. I'm glad I doubled the recipe! I wasn't picking up the peanut butter flavor as much as I liked so I added an extra half cup. I also used melted semi-sweet chocolate chips for the icing rather the what the recipe calls for since I didn't want them to go bad in the mail. I've since been asked to quadruple the recipe and send them again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
These are awesome! I always double the recipe and use a 9x13 pan. They disappear in a flash. My kids and their friends love them. I store them in the fridge for a firmer texture. Great easy recipe for a snack in a hurry that pleases most anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Republic, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
very good recipe...I melt 12 0z of chocolate chips and 2 tbsp of butter to pour over the top instead of icing...it sets better, then I put sprinkles over before the chocolate is dry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
This has been a favourite of mine for decades! I've always just melted one bag of Milk Chocolate Chips instead of an icing. I store them in the fridge so they don't get my fingers sticky while eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Yummy! I just made this today and I can't stop eating them! They came out nice and chewy, love the texture. I used half the butter called for in the icing. I put the squares in the fridge for about 15 mins to help the icing solidify.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States