Sweet Maple Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
The pork chops turned out great. I dipped once and my oatmeal coated well and adhered just fine (very little came off during cooking process). It was quite sweet but we did enjoy the maple flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
Another great recipe!!! I thought I would absolutely cry when I added the maple syrup. The aroma was wonderful! The taste was beyond belief!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amanda, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
The breading of oats was a very nice change of pace, great texture. However, the maple flavor was a bit too strong for my husband's and my liking. My husband prepared this dish and felt it was too much effort for the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
EXCELLENT! EVERYONE ENJOYED IT! NO LEFTOVERS! MADE A FEW CHANGES. ADDED 1 CUP OF QUICK COOKING OATS INSTEAD OF 1/2 CUP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
I gave this 5 stars because it had a very nice flavor but it was a big mess, the oatmeal wouldn't stay on during cooking, there was more in the skillet than on the chops. Next time I am going to try putting the oatmeal in the blender first to make a powder out of it, then dip the chops in it. Also, I see no need to use a whole quart of oil, next time I will use a small amount in the skillet, I think that the oats will stick to the chops better that way. I don't see why all that cream is necessary, seems like you would only need a cup to dip the chops in. But it does have a nice flavor and is worth trying again, and hopefully I'll get better results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
I took a look at this recipe and thought it was surely a disaster... boy was I wrong! It was delicious. The onions were a nice compliment that brought the sweetness down a little. I used way less cream than what was called for but used a lot more oats. Messy but worth it. I just wish there was a healthier version so I could make this more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
Wonderful! I was looking for recipes to get rid of a gallon tin of Canadian Maple syrup, and was a bit iffy about preparing this, but the reviews sold me. It turned out so great!! My extremely picky mate scarfed down his chop and helped himself to another. The dish smelled divine cooking, it looked so great plated up too. (I served the chops on a bed of whole wheat angel hair with maple green beans.) I agree with the others, I used a lot more oats then called for, and I did not need near the amount of cream for the breading (I used 2 cups and still threw out a good 1/2 cup or more). I will be adding this recipe to my favourites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIDNIGHTMUSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lingle, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
I loved this recipe and so did my boyfriend, it will be added to my favorites. I did leave out the onions because my boyfriend doesn't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
This was an excellent recipe. A quick recipe that had complex flavors that make it seem like a difficult meal. The actual amount of oats needed was closer to a 1/2 cup per chop, the amount of cream was closer to one cup for the breading and one cup at the end for the sauce. The amount of maple syrup could be reduced to a 1/2 cup to avoid making the dish overly sweet. Also, depending on the size of your pan, the amount of oil could be reduced to 2 cups for browning chops. I would say this was an intermediate level recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
This recipe was amazing. Everyone who came to Sunday dinner was so impressed and delighted with the sweet flavor and the tender porkchops. The only thing I changed was I had to use more oats for the coating than the recommended amount. Some of the oats fell of during cooking but this made the sauce have a great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LVNNSTYL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bluff, Utah, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States