Sweet Maple Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
I like it, but I, too, like several others would do some things different. A lot less oil for sure! I only used half of what it called for and it was still twice too much. Needs more oats, and using the blender is a good idea. I didn't use all the cream, and it didn't need it. We really enjoyed the maple flavoring! I didn't measure out the syrup, I just squeezed some over each chop. I will try this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
The coating would not stay on so all of the oatmeal was just in the bottom of the pan. And the sauce was way too sweet. We had to throw all of this mess away and order pizza. Definately will not try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
This was awesome! My daughter wants it for her birthday dinner. The only thing I did different was to use Patanko Bread Crumbs instead of Oats. I served it with Garlic Mashed Potatoes and steamed Broccoli. YUM! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This was a very yummy and different way to enjoy pork chops. I did do what others suggested and I didn't use that much cream or oil. I also dipped each pork chop in oatmeal first and then the cream mixture. I believe this did help keep the oatmeal on the chop while it cooked. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
My husband, I, and mother in law loved this..It was a hit! I used Great Value Pancake and waffle syrup. It only had 5% Maple Syrup in it. I also put them in the oven while finishing the other 6 porkchops and waiting on company. It was about 20 minutes in the oven on 300 and they came out so juicy and tender.. The only thing is I read a review that said crumbs fell off and so I blended like she suggested on the 1st porkchop. The breading fell off immediatly so I layered porkchop with quick oats and they stayed on so much better. I took the other breading that fell off and lined the casserole dish with it. We loved them and will definetly make them again...Just some suggestions...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Hall Lynam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hannibal, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
This was different...perfect as that's what I was looking for...it was VERY SWEET and I think the syrup overpowered it just a wee bit. I WILL be making this again, but LESS syrup and MORE ONIONS and MUSHROOMS! :) I agree with others that MORE oatmeal is needed for the crust and LESS cream (I used 1/2 and 1/2 and it turned out FINE) for dredging. Also, I didn't use NEAR that much oil either...more than to "coat" the pan, but not enough to drown them....(I eyeballed it) Also, I didn't have ANY problems with the Oatmeal falling off either ~ Great recipe. Different and just a wee bit TIME consuming, but GREAT!! ~ It's a keeper for sure ~ Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoccerMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
We tweaked this recipe some...used much less oil for frying, added some grated Parmesean cheese to the oats for dredging, replaced the maple syrup with a tablespoon or so of Dijon mustard and added more mushrooms...sort of defeated the "maple" aspect, but since there was basil and garlic we made it a little more Italian
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
This was a nice change of pace for pork chops, I did a few things differently. First I dip the pork chops in the oatmeal, then in the cream mixture, then back in the oatmeal. I know everyone thinks the first coat will come right off, but trust me it doesn't and the coating comes out much nicer. I do beleive this is probably the reason why I used more like 3 cups of Oatmeal and hardly any of the cream mixture. Second I used fat free half and half in place of the heavy cream to cut down on the fat and calories, the flavor of the sauce was very good, a little sweet (but hey what did I expect the recipe is called SWEET maple pork chops) but I think because of the fat free half and half it had a hard time thickening I added a little cornstarch to fix that up. Third I bought 2 packages of pork chops, for a total of 8 chops, I could only fit 6 chops in the pan with the onion/garlic/basil/maple syrup mixture. The remaining 2 chops I put in the frypan after I took everything out and cooked covered on low for 10 minutes by themselves. Having tried the chops both ways I don't feel this affected the taste at all and I would cook the chops this way when I prepare it again as it left the coating crispy and in tact on the chop. I definetely had trouble with the coating staying on the original 6 chops. Lastly I in no way used a quart of oil to fry these in, if I were to approximate I'd say I used about a cup or so. We did enjoy the recipe, and I'll be making it again. THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Wow...these were absolutely amazing!! It took a while to prepare, but in the end, the taste was out of this world, and very much worth the effort. Some of the oatmeal did come off, but not enough to alter the taste. I fixed this meal for a special occasion, and it will stay that way. We could easily eat this once a week, but the high fat and calories would show eventually! :) UPDATE: To cut the calories, I used Promise spread in place of butter, half and half instead of the cream and used butter lite syrup. The taste was still amazing, and I will prepare it that way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAISYTAZZY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
Tremendous! Made this for my husband and then for my parents and it was a success all around. A restaurant down the street makes something similar and my family thought this was better. Only issue was some of the oatmeal fell off while cooking...but it still was fantastic! Great dish for guests or dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States