Sweet Maple Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
This was a big hit with the whole family! Wonderful flavor. I did not coat the meat, just seared on each side in a little olive oil after seasoning with salt and pepper. I then took out of pan and set aside. I added chopped bacon, onion, and mushrooms to the pan and let cook through until bacon was crispy. Then I added two cloves minced garlic, 1/2 cup syrup and the seared pork. I let this simmer until pork was cooked tender. Next, I added 1 to 2 cups skim milk with 2 or 3 Tbls flour to thicken and make creamy. This turned out great. There were no left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ItalianSpice
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This was very flavorful but a tad too sweet. I would add a little less of the syrup next time. All in all, juicy and tasty and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItalianSpice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
The pork itself is quite nice as the oats add a slight nutty flavour but the sauce ruins it. I did make some changes. For dipping, I reduced the cream to one cup and added a dash of cinnamon. For the sauce I reduced the maple syrup to half a cup (as many reviewers complained the dish was overly sweet), used canned mushrooms (didn't have any fresh) and dried basil (I don't usually have fresh herbs). The combination of onions, garlic and basil in the sauce make it taste not good. I have tried other pork recipes on AR that use a combination of sweet (like brown sugar) and fruit (like apples) that taste great. I think that the sauce could be tweaked to incorporate fruit, maybe apple or pear with the cream and maple syrup or maybe omit the cream and reduce the maple syrup until thick, along with some "autumn" tasting spices (cinnamon, nutmeg, etc) to make a very tasty dish.This modified version would be great with a salad, maybe some mashed potatoes. Will keep this in mind when I try my hand at creating a recipe that will work. Thanks for all the ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Way too sweet for our liking. Followed the instructions of other reviewers and double-dipped the chops (oatmeal/cream mixture/oatmeal again) -- that worked really well. Also listened to others and reduced the cream and oil by more than half. I think next time I'd try half the maple syrup to see if that make it less sweet because pork chops should not taste like candy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
A nice new way to cook pork chops. Boyfriend said they were even better the next day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
EXCELLENT!!!!! MY husband, brother n law, and kids loved it. I have made it 2 weekes in a row, this week will be my 3rd. hope you enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
Interesting flavors, but the oatmeal coating was thick and chewy and greasy. Maybe I didn't do something right, but I didn't care for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I joined allrecipes just so I could rate this recipe and give credit to the person who suggested double dipping the chops in the oats. THE OATS DON'T FALL OFF it makes the coating nice and thick and really tasty! I now do this with everything I bread it's AWESOME for chicken cutlets!! So thanks for the recipe it's great--but even more thanks to LOVECED for her advice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Compared to how lovely this recipe sounds, I was a little dissappointed. It was interesting, but too sweet for my liking. Sweetness of maple syrup together with cream was a little sickening. The oat coating was lovely, shame you put it in the sauce only to lose the yum roasted crispness. I might try it again, seperate the sauce and pork, use it as a dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Good recipe. A little too sweet for me. Chops seemed a little soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States