Sweet Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I added peeled cucumber slices and many people at my party commented how much they liked the cucumber. This is a terrific salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Excellent! Tons of compliments!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I LOVE this recipe! I actually used evaporated milk because I didn't realize that I was out of sweetened condensed milk.... I just added about half a cup of sugar. I also left out the green peppers, but I will add them in next time to try it. I was asked for the recipe several times. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: West Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This is close to the recipe I use. I use only 1/2 cup sugar, 3/4 cup vinegar and evaporated milk instead of condensed. Also a chopped cucumber. My "secret" ingredient is 1 1/4 tsp garlic powder. I am always asked to bring my salad. Also use salad shells, but that doesn't reslly matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I like this recipe! Very good and different from your normal macaroni salad..however, I think it had a bit too much dressing...I would use maybe 3/4 of what I did this time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I have made this dish many times. It is one of my go-to sides at pot-luck barbecues. I make it exactly as written but I never use the entire amount of dressing. I always get a lot of compliments on it and requests for recipes. One time I made it with store-bought pre-shredded carrots and i will never do that again because it totally changed the texture. I cut this recipe from the taste of home magazine several years ago. definitely a keeper in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I usually freeze 1/2 of it...it thaws wonderfully! love this salad. I do substitute some things though...I use 1/3 c of sugar, celery instead of green pepper, and only 1/2 c white vinegar. A great main dish to go with it: teriyaki chicken and rice. It is just like the hawaiian restaurant I love without the price!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Lovely recipe and SO good! I used dried diced onions because my kids don't like the crunchy onion taste. I used only the carrots for veggie to give it color. The dressing is terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
My family LOVES this! My daughter isn't a big 'veggie-fan', so I put the carrots, peppers and onions in the food processor and gave them a whirl! I then drained them on some paper towels (I can't believe how wet veggies can get!)...then added in as per the recipe! It made the prettiest orange color and looked like confetti in the salad! It was a HUGE HIT! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I made it exactly as the recipe said, but did not add any additional sugar. Even still, it was WAY too sweet - and there was WAY too much vinegar. Also, it was too thick. If you want to make a good macaroni salad with a smoother taste, I would suggest following the recipe, but use either 1/4 c. sugar or 1/4 c. condensed milk (not both - the condensed milk will make the the m. salad thicker), 1/4 c. of vinegar and 1/4 can of condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States