Sweet Jalapeno Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I made this using the regular single-bowl method and the result was fantastic. The texture (as appears in the picture) was very uniform,not too dense, and did not crumble- slices well fresh out of oven. Succeeds in being sweet enough, but not too much so. It's a keeper! Single-bowl method: blend all dry ingredients together, add wet, stir vigorously with fork until well blended (you should see just a few bubbles on top). Pour immediately into prepared pan. I used glass and it browned nicely. *Note: I used oil rather than margarine, which we don't keep- worked fine. Also, I didn't add the jalepeno this time... you can do that or not depending on your mood. It's a great basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Amazing!! Best cornbread ever! With my HOT chili, it went hand and hand..Using three bowls is the way to go, its awesome.. I used one full cup of sugar.. And three jalapeno's with all the seeds.. Loved it and will keep using it.Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAT in the HAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Skagway, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This was great. Just a little sweet with a hot kick. It was moist and had the perfect density. I accidentally bought cornmeal mix at the store so I had to adjust the recipe for that. I used 3 cups of the mix so I just left out the flour, baking powder and salt. I think I could have used about 1/2 cup more because it took longer to cook. Loved it. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yummy 4 Tummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Just finished eating some--yummy! The 3 bowl concept put me off at first...but I had no mix, or the buttermilk other recipe's called for, so I attempted it. First off, let me admit that I altered the recipe (1 can or creamed corn in place of 1 cup of the milk, and 2 eggs instead of 3, plus the 7 1/4 x 11 3/4 pan I had avail) which I'm sure made a difference. Took an extra 7 minutes in the oven and was a little crumbly--but if using the 3-bowl method gave it the rise and great taste that it has, it was worth a few extra dirty bowls!!! I'd add an extra jalapeno to my next batch though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Great recipe! I added velveeta cheese to this one and it went off with a major bang! Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I didn't have any jalapenos so I used habanero. I put it in a tin foil pan and baked it on the barbeque, it turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Added kernel corn and cheddar cheese to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vdineva
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I used less sugar and less jalapenos and the cornbread came our delicious with just a hint of spicy and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
So delicious. Can't wait to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
trying the recipe tonight. I always bake cornbread in a cast iron skillet. I oil up the pan then get it hot in the oven. I pour the batter into the hot greased pan. It creates a beautiful crust on the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States