Sweet Italian Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I made these green beans for my wedding and cannot tell you how many people have asked for the recipe or wondered where I got the green beans from!! They are easy to make (out of a can) and wonderful tasting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I made this as a side dish for a small party - people were surprised at how good beans can be. I did add a bit more brown sugar though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KKH3
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This was good, but a little odd. I used frozen beans, which I sauteed with the onions, instead of canned. I reduced the sugar to 1 tbs. because I don't like a sugary taste. I also used turkey bacon, which I don't recommend--it just didn't taste right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Wow, this is so good. It was super easy to make too. I served it with dinner last night and my mom said she really like the way I doctored up the green beans. This is a keeper recipe, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
with some variations: i used steamed frozen beans, fresh tomato, 1 teaspoon each of oregano and basil, one table spoon of brown sugar, one garlic clove, Add pinch crushed red pepper THIS WAS AWESOME! I HATE GREEN BEANS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADRIENNE27

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I almost didn't try this - I'm not a huge canned green bean fan. But I read through pages and pages of side dishes, and this is the only recipe that called out to me. I was very pleasantly surprised! The flavor is much more complex that one would expect from the rather simple ingredient list. But a warning - I read through recipe reviews on here and see people deviating from the recipe to try to "lighten" it up. So - please don't try to omit the bacon and its grease! Baco's and canola oil just isn't going to cut it. (To be fair I should add, I deviated from the recipe and simmered this for about an extra 10 minutes - the meatloaf I had in the oven wasn't done yet and I didn't want the beans to get cold...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grant L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deninefhs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mccomb, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Jamestown, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Although I haven't made this yet, I've had it, and it's great! My neighbor used to make it for all our potluck get togethers and everyone LOVED it. I always meant to get the recipe from her, but never did, then I moved away suddenly and I've been looking for something simillar ever since. I'm so happy I found this! It's great comfort food and works nicely in a crock pot with fresh beans (add salt!) which is what she did when they were available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garfield, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This receipe is like one that has been past down through the generations in my family only instead of green beans we use Zucchini. MMM delicious. The house smells so good when you are cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I was sceptical but these beans were awesome. I used fresh garden beans and just boiled them to soften them up and then followed the recipe exactly. I think you could just make the sauce for this and skip the beans and add it to pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States