Sweet Italian Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Okay. I read another review which indicated that they had used zucchini. And guess what? I have zucchini by the bushel full right now. So me thinks, why not. It was yummy. I followed all of the rest of the recipe, except cooked the zucchini with the onions and garlic, then added the tomatoes and herbs. It was just yummy. The brown sugar adds a nice sweetness to the dish. I loved it and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
We liked this. Needed a little more bacon and a little less brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
It was okay. It was too sweet. I cannot say it was good till the last drop. I would cut out some of the brown sugar, not because it is more calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Murrile

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I was sceptical but these beans were awesome. I used fresh garden beans and just boiled them to soften them up and then followed the recipe exactly. I think you could just make the sauce for this and skip the beans and add it to pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This receipe is like one that has been past down through the generations in my family only instead of green beans we use Zucchini. MMM delicious. The house smells so good when you are cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Although I haven't made this yet, I've had it, and it's great! My neighbor used to make it for all our potluck get togethers and everyone LOVED it. I always meant to get the recipe from her, but never did, then I moved away suddenly and I've been looking for something simillar ever since. I'm so happy I found this! It's great comfort food and works nicely in a crock pot with fresh beans (add salt!) which is what she did when they were available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garfield, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deninefhs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mccomb, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Jamestown, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I almost didn't try this - I'm not a huge canned green bean fan. But I read through pages and pages of side dishes, and this is the only recipe that called out to me. I was very pleasantly surprised! The flavor is much more complex that one would expect from the rather simple ingredient list. But a warning - I read through recipe reviews on here and see people deviating from the recipe to try to "lighten" it up. So - please don't try to omit the bacon and its grease! Baco's and canola oil just isn't going to cut it. (To be fair I should add, I deviated from the recipe and simmered this for about an extra 10 minutes - the meatloaf I had in the oven wasn't done yet and I didn't want the beans to get cold...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grant L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
with some variations: i used steamed frozen beans, fresh tomato, 1 teaspoon each of oregano and basil, one table spoon of brown sugar, one garlic clove, Add pinch crushed red pepper THIS WAS AWESOME! I HATE GREEN BEANS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADRIENNE27

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Wow, this is so good. It was super easy to make too. I served it with dinner last night and my mom said she really like the way I doctored up the green beans. This is a keeper recipe, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States