Sweet Italian Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deninefhs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mccomb, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Jamestown, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Okay. I read another review which indicated that they had used zucchini. And guess what? I have zucchini by the bushel full right now. So me thinks, why not. It was yummy. I followed all of the rest of the recipe, except cooked the zucchini with the onions and garlic, then added the tomatoes and herbs. It was just yummy. The brown sugar adds a nice sweetness to the dish. I loved it and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I used italian greenbeans instead of regular and it turned out really good. Everybody loved, including my picky eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I made this as a side dish for a small party - people were surprised at how good beans can be. I did add a bit more brown sugar though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I was sceptical but these beans were awesome. I used fresh garden beans and just boiled them to soften them up and then followed the recipe exactly. I think you could just make the sauce for this and skip the beans and add it to pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I made these green beans for my wedding and cannot tell you how many people have asked for the recipe or wondered where I got the green beans from!! They are easy to make (out of a can) and wonderful tasting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Wow, this is so good. It was super easy to make too. I served it with dinner last night and my mom said she really like the way I doctored up the green beans. This is a keeper recipe, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
with some variations: i used steamed frozen beans, fresh tomato, 1 teaspoon each of oregano and basil, one table spoon of brown sugar, one garlic clove, Add pinch crushed red pepper THIS WAS AWESOME! I HATE GREEN BEANS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADRIENNE27

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I almost didn't try this - I'm not a huge canned green bean fan. But I read through pages and pages of side dishes, and this is the only recipe that called out to me. I was very pleasantly surprised! The flavor is much more complex that one would expect from the rather simple ingredient list. But a warning - I read through recipe reviews on here and see people deviating from the recipe to try to "lighten" it up. So - please don't try to omit the bacon and its grease! Baco's and canola oil just isn't going to cut it. (To be fair I should add, I deviated from the recipe and simmered this for about an extra 10 minutes - the meatloaf I had in the oven wasn't done yet and I didn't want the beans to get cold...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grant L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Although I haven't made this yet, I've had it, and it's great! My neighbor used to make it for all our potluck get togethers and everyone LOVED it. I always meant to get the recipe from her, but never did, then I moved away suddenly and I've been looking for something simillar ever since. I'm so happy I found this! It's great comfort food and works nicely in a crock pot with fresh beans (add salt!) which is what she did when they were available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garfield, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States