Sweet Italian Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This recipe was great. I made it as written the first time, and the second time I made changes. I sauted 1 diced medium onion in just a little bit of the bacon grease after the bacon was removed. Instead of the diced tomatoes, I used 1/2 a can of tomato puree. I thought it had a more consistant tomato flavor than with chunks of tomato. It turned out great! I will be using this recipe frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willis, Texas, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Awesome recipe, the bacon tastes great with this recipe. I used fresh green beans, and since the tomatoes already have basil & oregano I didn't add the extra herbs. I will definitely make this again, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was just the right amount of sweetness. A great way to put a new spin on plain old green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Delicious recipe! I reduced the brown sugar by half and it was still sweet enough. I also used fresh green beans and just covered them and let them cook until they were tender. This is a definite repeat dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I thought these were great, but my family did not care for them. I do think the brown sugar could be reduced and they would still be good. I used pre-cooked bacon and just used a little vegetable oil instead of bacon grease. It was quicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
These green beans were really, really delicious! I used fresh green beans and tomatoes, and added a little white balsamic vinegar to the mix. Went really well with our italian inspired meatloaf. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Jennalaine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Desperate to liven up up green beans I gave this recipe a shot. It was great and my two friends eating dinner with me asked for the recipe. Her toddler even liked it! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
AWESOME! I had swiss steak last night and wanted something that would compliment my dinner. Due to the tomatoes in the swiss steak I tried something different. Instead of the tomatoes I added a can of tomatoes and for an added twist I used maple bacon. Very unique and tasty combination of flavors. Wonderful dinner. Husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by firecrakr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This was great!! My husband doesn't like green beans but I made this last night and he asked for more. I did change its a bit cause I didn't have everything and was not going to go to the store. I used garlic powder and onion powder, didn't drain the green beans and didn't add the tomatoes or bacon. It turned out really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Loved this recipe and since I'm not a fan of canned green beans, I used frozen and started boiling them until they became soft. The receipe adds that little extra touch to make a plain green beans stand out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisheee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States