Sweet Irish Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
This is absolutely delicious. I didn't have any sour cream or plain yogurt on hand, so I used vanilla yogurt instead. The result may have been sweeter than intended, but I think it's fantastic. The bread wound up sinking a bit in the middle, but the taste far outshadowed the appearance. Thank you so much. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I wanted a change from my old raisin bread recipe, plus I had sour cream that I wanted to use up so I was delighted to find this recipe. All I got to say is "Wonderful!" This bread isn't like your typical bread though...it came out moist sort of like a cake but it is so good! I added in 1/2 cup extra raisins to the batter cause I love raisins. I only made this bread last night and half of it is gone already! (That's alot considering it's just me and my dad eating!) It's really good with a glass of cold vanilla milk. I'll definitely be using this recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I was looking for a Irish soda bread recipe but saw this one and tried it first. I made it exactly as written except used lite sour cream. This bread is delicious and will be good toasted with a little butter on it. I think next time I will use less sugar , maybe 3/4 cup instead of the whole cup. This is a must for anyone that loves warm bread right out of the oven and would be great with a cup of hot tea. Very tasty , very moist.....5 stars Peggy Ann
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laredo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This is an awsome breakfast loaf. I used nonfat plain yogurt instead of sour cream and 1/2 cranberries and 1/2 rasins. The results are awsome,I can't wait to toast it because the crispy outer layers of the bread are soooo yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Very good. I had to substitute a couple of ingredients...did not have cream of tartar or sour cream and used baking powder and buttermilk instead. I also added a bit of vanilla extract. It turned out beautifully. This one's a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Absolutely wonderful recipe ! I made the following changes : 1) Used 1 1/4 C of dried mixed fruit bits (apples, apricots, plums, cherries, raisins) and chopped dates, in place of just the raisins. 2) Added 1/2 C of toasted, coarsely chopped almonds. 3) Added 1 teaspoon of cardamom and 1teaspoon of ground ginger. 4) Baked it for 65 minutes. Just after taking the bread out of the oven, I loosened the bread from the pan and wrapped it in many layers of aluminum foil (in order to keep the moisture in). Tastes dense and cake-like, and is even better the next day. Yummy ! I am definitely going to make this many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
This is so delicious!! I have made it many times and it always is a huge hit. My family cn't get eonough of this. It is nice and moist which makes it stand out from the rest. Thanks for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
Very yummy. I used half the amount of butter and added some applesauce as a substitute, also low-fat sour cream and part whole wheat flour. This came out with a very nice flavor and texture -- I was surprised that such basic ingredients combined to have so much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I made this tihinking my sister would like this so I added the raisins. She never even tasted it but I did. I loved the bread, I hate cooked raisins ( am a wee bit fussy), so next time I will omit the raisins. But I ate the whole bread by myself and told my brother about it. He has taken the recipe home with him so he can make it. Definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat's

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RoseInOhio
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I made this sweet bread just the way the recipe called for...I changed nothing! It was wonderful! I will be passing this recipe down to my grandchildren!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States