Sweet Irish Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
This is absolutely delicious. I didn't have any sour cream or plain yogurt on hand, so I used vanilla yogurt instead. The result may have been sweeter than intended, but I think it's fantastic. The bread wound up sinking a bit in the middle, but the taste far outshadowed the appearance. Thank you so much. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I wanted a change from my old raisin bread recipe, plus I had sour cream that I wanted to use up so I was delighted to find this recipe. All I got to say is "Wonderful!" This bread isn't like your typical bread though...it came out moist sort of like a cake but it is so good! I added in 1/2 cup extra raisins to the batter cause I love raisins. I only made this bread last night and half of it is gone already! (That's alot considering it's just me and my dad eating!) It's really good with a glass of cold vanilla milk. I'll definitely be using this recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I was looking for a Irish soda bread recipe but saw this one and tried it first. I made it exactly as written except used lite sour cream. This bread is delicious and will be good toasted with a little butter on it. I think next time I will use less sugar , maybe 3/4 cup instead of the whole cup. This is a must for anyone that loves warm bread right out of the oven and would be great with a cup of hot tea. Very tasty , very moist.....5 stars Peggy Ann
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laredo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This is an awsome breakfast loaf. I used nonfat plain yogurt instead of sour cream and 1/2 cranberries and 1/2 rasins. The results are awsome,I can't wait to toast it because the crispy outer layers of the bread are soooo yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Very good. I had to substitute a couple of ingredients...did not have cream of tartar or sour cream and used baking powder and buttermilk instead. I also added a bit of vanilla extract. It turned out beautifully. This one's a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Absolutely wonderful recipe ! I made the following changes : 1) Used 1 1/4 C of dried mixed fruit bits (apples, apricots, plums, cherries, raisins) and chopped dates, in place of just the raisins. 2) Added 1/2 C of toasted, coarsely chopped almonds. 3) Added 1 teaspoon of cardamom and 1teaspoon of ground ginger. 4) Baked it for 65 minutes. Just after taking the bread out of the oven, I loosened the bread from the pan and wrapped it in many layers of aluminum foil (in order to keep the moisture in). Tastes dense and cake-like, and is even better the next day. Yummy ! I am definitely going to make this many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
This is so delicious!! I have made it many times and it always is a huge hit. My family cn't get eonough of this. It is nice and moist which makes it stand out from the rest. Thanks for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
Very yummy. I used half the amount of butter and added some applesauce as a substitute, also low-fat sour cream and part whole wheat flour. This came out with a very nice flavor and texture -- I was surprised that such basic ingredients combined to have so much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I made this tihinking my sister would like this so I added the raisins. She never even tasted it but I did. I loved the bread, I hate cooked raisins ( am a wee bit fussy), so next time I will omit the raisins. But I ate the whole bread by myself and told my brother about it. He has taken the recipe home with him so he can make it. Definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat's

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RoseInOhio
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I made this sweet bread just the way the recipe called for...I changed nothing! It was wonderful! I will be passing this recipe down to my grandchildren!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States