Sweet Irish Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Amazing bread! My Grandma was Irish and made Sweet Irish Bread all the time. This is a good bread to eat any time of day and is good cold, warm, toasted, etc. Extremely moist and is also a good bread to make a Strata out of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
My mom loved this! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breadsmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RoseInOhio
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I made this sweet bread just the way the recipe called for...I changed nothing! It was wonderful! I will be passing this recipe down to my grandchildren!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I was looking for a Irish soda bread recipe but saw this one and tried it first. I made it exactly as written except used lite sour cream. This bread is delicious and will be good toasted with a little butter on it. I think next time I will use less sugar , maybe 3/4 cup instead of the whole cup. This is a must for anyone that loves warm bread right out of the oven and would be great with a cup of hot tea. Very tasty , very moist.....5 stars Peggy Ann
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laredo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This is an awsome breakfast loaf. I used nonfat plain yogurt instead of sour cream and 1/2 cranberries and 1/2 rasins. The results are awsome,I can't wait to toast it because the crispy outer layers of the bread are soooo yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Delicious! Wonderful! I didn't have any sour cream so I substituted vanilla yogurt. I didn't have raisins either, so I put in dried blueberries. Sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
It was good but I think it would be better if I used crasins instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lov2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Weber, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I made this bread for St Patty's Day, and it was extremely easy to make! My family all loved it and have asked for the recipe. I will keep making this for years to come! I have to make it without raisins for one person, but it is still a yummy bread! Its great toasted, or if you let it sit for a bit, you can use it for french toast as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Graham, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Not being a fan of sour cream, I was worried I would be able to taste it in the bread, and the slice I had warm out of the oven did taste a little like sour cream. However, the flavor actually improves a day or two after baking (stored in the refrigerator). Now I can't taste the sour cream at all--just delicious, hearty bread! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Very good. I had to substitute a couple of ingredients...did not have cream of tartar or sour cream and used baking powder and buttermilk instead. I also added a bit of vanilla extract. It turned out beautifully. This one's a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States