Sweet Ham Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Came out badly and I followed the directions exactly with a quality 5# ham. I had to grind the whole thing up and make ham salad. Total waste of a beautiful ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I used a whole fresh ham, not canned, and my husband said it was the best ham he ever had, maybe it depends on the OJ you use, ive found some are more bitter than others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alley
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Very, very good and easy! Used a 6 lb. fresh ham instead of canned (cooked for 6 1/2 hours instead of 8 on low). Other than that, followed the recipe exactly. Did baste a few times while the ham cooked. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Good recipe. To thicken the sauce I would suggest using orange marmalade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This recipe worked out perfectly! I just moved in with my boyfriend and my cooking experience is very minimal but I thought I would give this one a try with my new slow cooker. Instead of using canned ham I used a 1 Kg boneless smoked ham, 6 hours on higher heat in my slow cooker. It was so juicy and tender we both loved it! Definitely going to keep this recipe around! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmedwid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This was pretty good. The only oj I had was Sunny D. I do not recommend using this, because every bite of the outter parts of the ham tasted just like it. My husband really like it, which was a shock. Will make again using regular oj. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I used half as much juice and added a TBS of horseradish. You could also use any non diet cola, horseradish and brown sugar. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Love love love this recipe! Made with a boneless ham, not a canned ham. And don't forget to baste frequently. Is the juiciest ham I've ever eaten, and terrific flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Very easy and family loved it. Used tidbits instead of crushed pineapple. Will definitely make this again often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Haines City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Didn't care for this much. Tons of liquid when the 8 hours were over. Seemed more boiled than slow cooked. Not alot of flavor. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anna6271

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

How to Cook Ham

See how to prepare a juicy glazed ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States