Sweet Grilled Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
This is a great recipe! The corn gets to tender on the grill and the flavor is awesome! I didn't have macadamia nut oil so I used olive oil, other than that I changed nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Did not like this recipe at all! The cheese just burnt on the corn and it tasted like the corn was left out on the counter over night not wrapped. Wont try again......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I thought this was outstanding! We made this for our Labor Day cookout. We used 6 ears of corn, skipped the soaking, skipped the macadamia nut oil (didn't have any) and cut the garlic down to 2 tsp. Fabulous! The herb taste was not overwhelming, just subtle, but the corn was juicy and uber-delicious. I had rather large ears of corn, and grilled 5 minutes, gave it a 1/4 turn, grilled 5 minutes, gave it a 1/4 turn, etc. I think the total cooking time on the grill was about 25 minutes. Next time I make this I'd like to spice it up a bit, but this was great for the folks (who don't like any spice at all). One of the best recipes I've run across on this site! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Greendale, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I am honestly amazed that so many people raved about this sweet corn recipe. Because of that, I couldn't wait to try it. Boy was I disappointed! It wasn't fabulous, or even delicious. It was just "alright". The seasonings that cooked into it overpowered the wonderful flavor of the corn. It really tasted like the corn had been boiled and then rolled in Thanksgiving day stuffing. We are used to grilling sweet corn in the husks and the grilling intensifies the sweetness of the corn. I am so disappointed that we wasted the corn and the spices. We won't be making this recipe again. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
We just didn't care for it espcially my children. The butter mixture smelled great & so did the corn when we opened the packets. The cheese stuck to the tinfoil & there wasn't much on the corn. Will not try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNKEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iron Mountain, Michigan, USA
Living In: Quinnesec, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
I absolutely LOVE this recipe!! Forget the macadamia oil - it's not needed! This is great on corn on the cob, even good on canned corn! We drain canned corn & put on aluminum foil. Pour some of this all over, wrap up in double layer of the foil & grill it when we don't have corn on the cob handy and it's EXCELLENT. The other thing we love it on is diced, boiled yukon gold potatoes. Put them in a foil packet w/ this & grill - I swear, I completely forget about the steaks that are right beside them on the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
I didn't use any sage because I didn't have any, and these still were GREAT! Will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Huge hit at the party :) It was fabulous and everyone loved it! Very easy to make :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
This wasn't terrible, but we didn't think it was great. I think I'll stick to the salt, pepper, butter we usually use. Maybe I'll add garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
As for taste, I give this one star, but because I made some changes and a big mistake which I believe was the cause of the "failure" I will give it four.The changes I made were: to reduce the yield for two. (I often find doing this makes a difference in the outcome.) And because I did not have macadamia nut oil, I used O.O., another change was using poultry seasoning in place of rubbed sage; and no salt because of a restricted "no salt" diet my husband has. I thought with all the herbs and seasonings, this would not be missed. I followed the directions for preparing until the step of punching holes in the foil. I forgot to do this! When we opened the foil to check the corn, all the herb mixture had caked and mostly burned. We ate the corn as it was not burned but it did not have taste, which I take the blame for. If you make this recipe, DO NOT FORGET TO DO THIS IMPORTANT STEP! I will try this once more, as it should have been very good I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Corn on the Cob

This simple grilling method yields perfect corn every time.

Grilled Salmon with Bacon and Corn Relish

A warm bacon and fresh corn relish make this salmon spectacular.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States