Sweet Green Bean Bundles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Soooooo good! Not only did I love this, but so did my husband, tween, and preschooler. I made the following changes: After baking 25 minutes, I took the bundles and grilled them on my gas grill for about 3 minutes on each side. I removed them, and drizzled leftover butter-sugar sauce from the earlier pan over the bundles right before serving. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I used fresh green beans and pan fried them before wrapping in bacon. Although I loved them, my husband said it took away the "greenbean taste". They were crispy on the inside, but a little wilted looking on the out. I'd do it again just for cool presentation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I've been making these every Thanksgiving for years! However, I only use fresh green beans and blanch them for a few minutes until bright green. As a more healthy alternative, I skip the butter & sugar and toss the blanched green beans with some olive oil and a touch of dijon mustard. It also helps to cook the bacon for 2 minutes in the microwave before wrapping around the green beans. This will help speed up the baking time to about 25 min and prevent the green bean from being over cooked. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
One of my favorite recipes to make for a pot luck. People are always impressed and they just fly off the plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheLazyChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This has been a family favorite of ours for YEARS. I sometimes I forget about it and then will cook it for a family gathering and they disappear like magic! We NEVER have enough! We add 1 tsp. of Soy Sauce to ours, they are delicious. Perfect beginning to any meal, summer, winter or fall! I ONLY used good quality whole CANNED green beans. They are our favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema T

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Used fresh green beans from my garden thought is was great. Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Good, but very sweet. Similar sweetness to candied yams. If you do not want sweet green beans cut the sugar by half or more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I have made these before and they are SOOOOOO good. They are very addictive so make extras. I have found that the canned whole green beans work the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Yum! Will be making these again, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This was absolutely amazing! A quick and elegant side dish! Wrapping the green beans took no time at all. I used fresh frozen beans. My family raved about this recipe, but there was one problem......there weren't enough! :-D They ate them like candy! Our family of 5 could easily double this recipe. For dinner guests, two bundles is an attractive and bountiful side to any meal. Thanks for this delectable recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNYANN1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baraboo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States