Sweet Fried Summer Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
These were fantastic. Kinda stinks up the kitchen though with all that oil. Just make sure to try to slice the Squash pretty thin. My husband and I loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie K

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
ez and delicious---made them over & over, so glad the neighbor's gardens are so productive
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This was very yummy! We gobbled them up. I did make some changes - some worked, some didn't. I reduced to 1/4 c. sugar, and used a mixture of flour and cornmeal. The batter didn't stick well though, so next time I will try dipping in egg/milk before I coat them. Will definitely make them again though! They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa1978

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orchard, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I absolutely love summer squash, but I didn't like these at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PALLOTTA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I enjoyed this recipe but use a little cornmeal as well. I always add fresh ripe tomato slices, couple pieces of bacon and use mayo on the bread. What a fantastic summer treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
The number of calories for six slices of fried squash is more than the total allotment for many of my meals. While delicious, there are many less fattening, but delicious recipes for summer squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Pretty good. Similar to how I make mine. I just use some margarine or butter in the pan and dredge just in flour and salt and pepper while frying in the pan. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Ohio, USA
Living In: De Graff, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I grew up in the south and this was a summer staple for us. My favorite way to do it is to use dry pancake mix instead of the flour. It adds a little extra sweetness without being overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Very sweet and a great way to use up summer squash. I used a mixture of cornmeal and flour which came out very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Very nice recipe. I changed things a little by adding a little more salt and some pepper to the flour mix. I also added a little paprika. I used olive oil in a skillet and also used canola oil in a deep fryer. The olive oil came out the best. Lastly I topped my with some churizo. The sweet and spicy play was amazing. Good job on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recipeDawg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States