Sweet Fried Summer Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I enjoyed this recipe but use a little cornmeal as well. I always add fresh ripe tomato slices, couple pieces of bacon and use mayo on the bread. What a fantastic summer treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
The number of calories for six slices of fried squash is more than the total allotment for many of my meals. While delicious, there are many less fattening, but delicious recipes for summer squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Pretty good. Similar to how I make mine. I just use some margarine or butter in the pan and dredge just in flour and salt and pepper while frying in the pan. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Ohio, USA
Living In: De Graff, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I grew up in the south and this was a summer staple for us. My favorite way to do it is to use dry pancake mix instead of the flour. It adds a little extra sweetness without being overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Very sweet and a great way to use up summer squash. I used a mixture of cornmeal and flour which came out very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Very nice recipe. I changed things a little by adding a little more salt and some pepper to the flour mix. I also added a little paprika. I used olive oil in a skillet and also used canola oil in a deep fryer. The olive oil came out the best. Lastly I topped my with some churizo. The sweet and spicy play was amazing. Good job on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recipeDawg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I am not going to badmouth this recipe too badly. The idea behind it is fantastic, but the subtle sweetness of squash is what makes it a summertime favorite and the amount of sugar in this recipe blankets that natural sweetness in the squash with an overwhelming sweetness that makes this dish almost a dessert as is. If you half or quarter the amount of sugar and maybe replace it with a little cornmeal, this fried squash is simple and amazing. This way the sugar carmelizes and accentuates the squash rather than candy coating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I usually make fried squash the traditional southern way, dredging first in milk/egg mixture, then in corn meal. Tonight I was out of eggs, so found this recipe and it turned out nicely. While I still prefer my traditional version, I wouldn't hesitate to make this again for a change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Too greasy for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Just didn't add any taste. More like oily little pieces of squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SELUNE13

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States