Sweet Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
These are seriously delicious. And pretty hard to mess up! I've made them probably 20 times now. YUM. I actually prefer to just roll them into balls and put them close together on a pan and then brush them with butter after they've baked. They are like pull-apart rolls. SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
These rolls were pretty good, but maybe not my favorite for a dinner roll. They were very soft and slightly sweet. They received great reviews at my Thanksgiving table. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Donna West!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
These are really light and tasty if you follow the recipe. You can also substitute olive oil for the butter and whole wheat for all or part of the flour if you want them to be a little more nutritious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
These are excellent. I followed the recipe as written and they turned out wonderful - everyone loves them! This recipe is definately a keeper at my house!! Thank You for the recipe. -Sue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
perfect sweetness for our tastes. a great dough for using for cinnamon rolls too...the texture is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jadedgurl
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
We had these for Thanksgiving. I don't have a bread machine so I mixed by hand. They came out great! My only change would be to cut back on the sugar just a little. Very easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jadedgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I had to make these by hand instead of in a bread machine, but they still turned out wonderfully. I also didn't make them into crescents. I just rolled them into balls. The taste and texture weren't quite what I was expecting, but, WOW! They taste amazing! This is definitely my new go-to dinner roll recipe. Simple ingredients also are a plus. I did pour/brush melted butter over the top of the rolls once they were finished baking and out of the oven. It made the tops soft and added to the richness of the rolls. I highly recommend adding butter to the tops, unless you like chewier tops. My one and only gripe is that the rolls weren't completely done on the bottoms after 18 minutes at the given temperature. The tops were starting to turn a dark gold, so I took them out. Maybe at a lower temperature and a slightly longer bake time, they would bake completely on the bottom. However, the rolls are so delicious that you don't even notice the slight doughiness at the bottom. I also cut the sugar down to around 1/4 of a cup. If I were making cinnamon rolls (Which I might just try with this recipe), I would use the full 1/3 cup. Otherwise, excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I used the ingredients exactly as listed, but rolled in balls instead of making crescent rolls. I have tried several roll recipes and my family loved this one. It was easy and delicious. I served with cinnamon honey butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeresSheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I've tried numerous roll recipes over the years. This recipe is the best, by far. My family loves sweet rolls, and these were perfect. I wouldn't change a thing! I do not own a bread machine, but these were easy enough to make by hand. I dissolved the yeast in warm water. Meanwhile, I scalded the milk, melted the butter in the hot milk, and let the mixture cool. I whisked in the egg when the milk was cool enough not to scramble it. I mixed the dry ingredients and added to the wet ingredients, a little at a time. I kneaded the dough for 6 to 8 minutes, placed it in a greased bowl to rise, and covered it with a cloth. After about an hour in my warm kitchen, I punched the dough down and shaped it into 20 rolls, which fit nicely into a greased 13x9 pan. At last! The perfect roll recipe for my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
With all the reviews of this wonderful recipe, I was hesitant to add another. This is the easiest most impressive roll recipe I have ever tried. Once the dough is ready for the second proofing, you can be very creative in your roll shapes. Impress you dinner guest with the same recipe shaped in twists, crescents, or clover leaf rolls. I can not say enough great things about this recipe. Thanks Donna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Stout

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Roundup, Montana, USA
Living In: Flemington, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 2,134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States