Sweet Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I recently made these for a dinner party. They turned out way too heavy for me to be considered as a dinner roll. This recipe produces a great dough, one that would be more suitable for cinnamon rolls. My husband and guests liked them. I was hoping for something lighter and flakier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin'Cyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Delicious! I made a second batch and made cinnamon rolls at the same time! Worked great in my bread maker. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
What a lovely recipe! Be careful not to make them too large or they will not cook all the way through. Remember they rise during that hour when you put them in a pan! Excellent recipe.. will make again and again. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Yummy! Nothin' like bread straight outta the oven. And, this recipe is to die for. I have made it 2 or 3 times already and really enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
These were my first real yeast rolls I've ever made, and they were delicious. Extremely soft and tender. They did turn out huge though. They were so big that I'm thinking I could have divided the dough in three parts instead of just two. I made 1/2 the batch into crescent rolls and baked them. I made the other 1/2 into round rolls and froze them. **Update 1-17-13 - I took 3 blobs of dough from freezer, thawed, and created 6 cloverleaf rolls. Of course, I let them rise. They were plenty big and perfectly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
My family and guests love these rolls. I have been making them for a long time. I put all of the ingredients in my bread machine and let it do all of the work. I adjust the amount of flour only for the temperature. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I loved these rolls with the exception that I need to figure out how to avoid burning the bottom. The first time I made them following the recipe. I was using a dark pan and a gas oven so I thought maybe that was the problem. The second time I made them I added about 2 Tbsp. of honey (fantastic!) and baked them at a lower temperature (350), for less time (7-8 mins) on parchement in an electric oven. I thought for sure that would do the trick, but, they still burned. Next time (and I will make them again) I'll probably try 325 or 300 and watch them even more closely. They really are fantastic, even when I burn them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Very good, but I expected them to be a little more buttery and the dough was a little wet, maybe I didn't measure the flour right. However they are tested and approved by my 19 year old son, he had 4 or more of them with dinner tonight!!! Also my husband is taking one for luch as a bacon & egg breakfast sandwich. We'll be eating the rest with leftover pot roast. A suggestion for those who said they didn't rise, as I have had problems with dough recipes in the past this is what I did.....I preheated my oven to 100 and left them in for about 45 minutes to proof, came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I make a lot of bread rolls as my family loves eating soups and stews! This recipe is by far my favourite! The results are light slightly sweet rolls, with a crispy golden crust! I made mine in my kitchen-aid mixer using the dough hook , as I do not have a bread machine- and they turned out perfectly! My family loved them and devoured them as soon as they hit the table! Instead of using melted butter to glaze the rolls, I used milk with about 3 tablespoons of sugar! This turns a lovely golden in the oven and also tastes beautiful- especially with sesame seed on pumpkin/pepitas seeds on top! This recipe is my favourite and I will continue to make it whenever we have soup--- so regularly! Thank you! It has been exactly the types of rolls that I have been looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I have made these a few times. After proofing the yeast in the water with a pinch of sugar I add the yeast and all the other ingredients, except the flour and salt, into my Kitchenaid with the paddle. Then I add the salt and 3 cups of flour. When it gets thick, I switch to the dough hook and add the rest of the flour just until the dough pulls off the bottom of the bowl. The mixer kneads the dough for about 5 minutes and I simply move the dough to a cutting board, make round rolls and place them on a greased sheet tray. The last time I cut the sugar to 1/4 cup and used half a large cake of fresh yeast. If you make all dinner sized rolls, it will make 24 good sized round rolls. This time I made 12 dinner rolls and 4 the size of hamburger buns. I baked at 375ºF. The dinner rolls took 12 minutes and the hamburger buns took 16 minutes... both were golden and beautiful. I will be using the buns for pulled pork sandwiches. Since the only rising time really needed is after the rolls are formed, it is one of the fastest, tastiest, and almost foolproof recipes I have found. You can easily make them start to finish in 2 hours because they only need to rise once. Very easy to change it up with less sugar, some finely minced garlic and bits of fresh rosemary too. You just can't go wrong with these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndi K.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brecksville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 2,147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States