Sweet Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
So tasty! I don't have a bread machine, so I followed K Praper's directions for the prep, and they turned out great! The rolls themselves were so perfect. The only changes I made (which didn't have an effect on the rolls themselves) were that I rolled ham and swiss in them before setting them to rise the second time and brushed the tops of them with a mixture of 1T spicy mustard, 4-6T butter, 1T poppy seeds, and 3-4T chopped onion before putting them in the oven. SO GOOD! For those of you who had crumbly rolls, that is often an issue with how they were prepared rather than with the ingredients. Not kneading them enough, using poor quality flour, or even letting them rise for too long, can lead to crumbly bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Love it. I do not have the kitchen counter space, so I roll in my hands and knot them in the middle. Works. I do not have a bread maker, so I do the traditional way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
These are the best rolls! I like to make 36 balls (23 grams each to be precise). I use a cupcake pan and put about 1/2 tsp. butter in each cup. I roll each ball in the butter and put 3 balls in each cup. Bake at 400 for 10-12 minutes and brush with more butter when they come out. Sooo good, and pretty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Wonderful, just like my mother used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Like the others, I also do not have a bread machine, they're a waste. I like the old fashioned way. Yeast added to warm water & milk (I use bulk yeast 2 1/2 tsps.). Then I added the butter and egg, then the flour mix slowly, I do however have a Mix Master and feel so guilty about not having to knead, I do so anyway for a few minutes, just so I feel better. LOL Made these for a Church Dinner, they were gone before anyone else's. . . . .so proud and I made 4 dozen and got raves about them, even a few ladies asked for the recipe. Sure fire winner, hands down. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This is my favorite bread recipe. I make it every Sunday. I probably won't event buy bread at the market again. I substitute the sugar for honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
These rolls were great! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I don't know what makes this recipe stand out but it does stand out! The best ever! I never thought all-purpose flour could make such a light bread, but i was wrong with this recipe. Didn't have any issues with any aspect of making it. I have never had to comment or rate any recipe, this is the first. Thanks Donna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Came out perfect.did it without bread machine. Proofed yeast with sugar, milk&water (110f).mixed dry ingredients then added flour half cup at a time into the yeast mixture along with butter(all the butter). Kneaded 10min on stand mixer.then let dough proof in greased bowl until double in volume.then rolled & shaped into 13balls &3 rolls (without buttering).let rise again until double in volume. Baked for 10-15 min, 400f.they turned out perfect.the strange part was I didn't butter the crescents when rolled out (ihad mixed it all in the dough), but they were still very fluffy & soft. I wish I had made all the croissants instead of buns (did them because they were suggested by others).im going to make them again this time all croissants like in the actual recipie.Lets see how they turn out.thanks Donna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gsooo1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 2,187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States