Sweet Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
Wow, I can't believe I made such good rolls. I don't have a breadmaker, so here's what I did: I mixed the water and milk, nuked in in the microwave for 1 minute and 15 seconds, poured it into the bowl of my KitchenAid mixer, then stirred in the sugar until it dissolved, then stirred in the yeast. I use yeast from a jar instead of packets, and I used 2.5 teaspoons. After it got foamy (I only waited about 10 minutes...I'm impatient) I mixed in the salt, butter and egg, then I started mixing the flour a half cup at a time. I let it rise for about 45 minutes in the bowl, then punched it down, divided it into 16 balls (I didn't feel like making crescents) and let it rise for another hour, then baked for 10 minutes. They turned out like something from a bakery. I have never, ever baked bread this wonderful. I am so bummed that I am home alone right now and nobody can see what a wonderful thing I just did! I also want to add, pay attention to the temperature of your oven...My oven tends to be extremely hot, so I only set it for 350 to bake these...they turned out perfect. I know 400 degrees would have blackened them. ~K
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5641 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
So yummy! I don't have a breadmaker, so I made these the traditional way (dissolve yeast and 1 tbsp sugar in warm water, let sit for about 10 min. Meanwhile, warm milk in saucepan until it just bubbles. Remove from heat, stir in sugar and butter until melted and cool to lukewarm. In a large bowl combine yeast mixture, milk mixture and egg. Stir in flour a little at a time and knead on lightly floured surface about 8 min.) Cover and let rise about 1 hr...punch down and then roll out. I baked at 375 for 12 min, but could have used a tad longer. Still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1684 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
There are never any rolls left when I make these for a dinner. After the dough raises, I divide the dough into 27 pieces and form into balls. I place 9 balls in a greased 9" pie pan, this gives me 3 pans of rolls. I let them raise for 30 minutes, then bake in the oven until lightly brown. I freeze the rolls in aluminum foil. When I need dinner rolls, I thaw the rolls, leave them wrapped in the foil and warm in the oven at 350 degrees for 5-10 minutes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1284 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brandon, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2003
Excellent rolls! I made these into cinnamon rolls and they turned out great! I don't own a bread machine and for those who don't either here are the directions to use: pour water & milk into bowl, add sugar, stir to disolve, add yeast, allow to proof for about 20 minutes until creamy foam appears, add butter, salt, mix, add slightly beaten egg and flour cup by cup stirring mixture. Allow to rise for 45mins in a warm area, covered with clean dish towel. Turn out and continue with step 2. These are very light, tasty rolls!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
452 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duck Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
My absolute favorite bread recipe. I'm always asked to bring the rolls to get-togethers. I've used it for cinnamon rolls, monkey bread...almost everything. I do cheat, however; normally I cut the dough into 36 pieces and place 3 into each cup of a muffin tin. It makes big, light clover leaf rolls that everyone raves over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
411 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
These rolls are so yummy.I don't have a bread maker so I make it the old fashioned way and it still turns out perfect everytime. Mix the warm water, warm milk and yeast first. Let it stand for about 10 minutes for the yeast to proof. Then add the remaining ingredients. Let it rise until doubled in size (about 1hr.) Then follow the rest of the recipe. My husband and boys arm wrestle for the last one. This recipe is also wonderful for cinnamon rolls. Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
366 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
GREAT!!! 5++++ What more can I say. I have used this recipe many times and always turns out GREAT!! If I am in a hurry I take dough out of bread machine and cut in 12 equal pieces. Roll dough into balls in my hand and then put them in my glass 9x13 pan and let them raise for 1 hour. Bake for 12 mins at 350.... These rolls are also good when made ahead of time and froze until ready to use. just pop in oven and warm up! Sooo Gooooood!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
The dough was too sticky in the machine, so I sprinkled flour into it until it was smooth. I was concerned about not using bread machine flour or bread machine yeast. I used the all purpose flour as it called for, but I used the bread machine yeast...it was all I had. I used 2 1/2 tsp of bread machine yeast. They rose just fine and taste great. I will use this recipe to replace my old bread machine roll recipe. As did another reviewer, I cut my dough into 36 pieces and placed three balls of dough into each muffin cup. They turned into beautiful clover rolls. Nice touch. Also, I use a pizza cutter to cut my dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rashel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selah, Washington, USA
Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
My oh my, these were sooooooooo good!!! I replaced 1 cup white flour for wheat flour. I made them the traditional way -no bread machine, and made 24 regular rolls formed in small balls. I baked at 375 dgrees for 17 minutes. Oh so good!! Thank you, Thank you THAMK YOU Donna!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
Amazingly wonderful. Just made them this morning. It was so easy using my bread machine on dough cycle; then pulled the dough out and rolled out flat for cinnamon rolls. Added fresh orange peel and 2 Tb fresh orange juice to butter, spread it on the rectangle of dough; packed on lots of brown sugar and cinnamon. Rolled and cut into cinn. rolls. Baked in 9x13 pan, 20mins at 200 degrees, then 20+/- mins at 350 degrees. Might want to put foil loosely over top so they don't get too brown or dried out. Wonderful new tradition for Thanksgiving morning!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States