Sweet Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I am in my seventies, and this is the best roll recipe I have found in many years of baking. I have passed it along to my family and we always have it for holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I was BLOWN AWAY by how easy and delicious this recipe is! They were pillowy soft, deliciously chewy, a nice, neutral flavor, and didn't require me to knead that much at all. I made these without a bread machine following the instructions of the top comment, and like her I made clover rolls instead of crescents. I softened the butter in a rush by putting it on the defrost setting in the microwave for 20 seconds. 10 minutes in an oven at 375 degrees was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I made this today to serve next week for Thanksgiving. I reserved two for "The Taste Test" and the rest I put into the freezer. These were amazing. I did not use a bread machine, just made them by hand normally. Will definitely make them again. Thank you , Donna, for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Turned out perfect even without a bread maker! Thanks for a wonderful recipe I am adding to my Thanksgiving menu for sure! I see many of these rolls in our future :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
mostly this was very good, but I too could not get them to raise, I did what my mom used to do I put them in the oven that I had warmed first,then turned the oven off. that did it, they rose. I guess if your not in a real warm area they do not raise well. You could also put them on top of stove while you are cooking in the oven that will get them to rise also. I think they tasted fine but not the best rolls I ever had like some people thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I made these as rolls, super soft and fluffy but the flavor lacked. I think it needs maybe another tsp of salt cause they turned out with a hint of sweetness but there was no balance of salt in there because it is quite a bit of flour over all. will try again using more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
So tasty! I don't have a bread machine, so I followed K Praper's directions for the prep, and they turned out great! The rolls themselves were so perfect. The only changes I made (which didn't have an effect on the rolls themselves) were that I rolled ham and swiss in them before setting them to rise the second time and brushed the tops of them with a mixture of 1T spicy mustard, 4-6T butter, 1T poppy seeds, and 3-4T chopped onion before putting them in the oven. SO GOOD! For those of you who had crumbly rolls, that is often an issue with how they were prepared rather than with the ingredients. Not kneading them enough, using poor quality flour, or even letting them rise for too long, can lead to crumbly bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Love it. I do not have the kitchen counter space, so I roll in my hands and knot them in the middle. Works. I do not have a bread maker, so I do the traditional way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
These are the best rolls! I like to make 36 balls (23 grams each to be precise). I use a cupcake pan and put about 1/2 tsp. butter in each cup. I roll each ball in the butter and put 3 balls in each cup. Bake at 400 for 10-12 minutes and brush with more butter when they come out. Sooo good, and pretty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 2,213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States