Sweet Corn Tomalito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
Indeed, this is exactly like Chevy's! I was a bit troubled about the lengthy cooking time and knew it could be accomplished in the microwave in a fraction of the time. These settings and times will differ from microwave to microwave, but I cooked the tomalito, covered, for 7 min. at 30% power and then 4 min. at full power. It came out awesome after only 11 minutes. Experiment, because this stellar recipe warrants being made often! I originally rated this in June 2004 but wanted to make sure new viewers saw my microwave directions because they are soooo easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
446 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
Gorgeous recipe! I cut the sugar to 1/4 cup, substituted butter for the margarine, and used previous reviewers' suggestions for microwaving (7 min. at 30%, 4 min. at 100%). Cutting down the sugar lets us use it as a base for toppings (sliced jalapenos or salsa or seasoned meat) or even as a filling for tacos/burritos, without being too sweet. But when we want this for dessert, I bump it up to the 1/3 cup of sugar, and voila! Perfection. Thanks for the great recipe! (Oh, and btw, to other reviewers-- there really is no substitute for masa harina. It makes all the difference in this recipe.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
just like chevy's! i cut down the butter to make it healthier. i found that steaming this in a pie pan over a large soup pot allowed for the most even cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
This can also be cooked in the oven! According to the Chevy's cookbook, you should cover the pan tightly with foil, place in a larger roasting pan, pour enough water into the roasting pan to reach 3/4" depth, and cook their Sweet Corn Tomalito in a 250 degree oven until a thermometer reads 175 degrees F (I assume when placed in the center of the casserole). For a 13"x9"x2" pan of corn tomalito, this should take 1 1/2 - 2 hours, but it would probably take much less for an 8"x8" pan, I would guess 60-90 minutes. Cooking over a pot of boiling water seems precarious, and I'm not a fan of cooking in the microwave, so this is the method I'm going to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grvqn
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This was SO good!! I used 1/4 c. of sugar and I use sweet frozen corn. It doesn't make much. I had to make a another batch cause the first one went by so fast! Very easy to make... I did it in the microwave. 7 minutes at 30% power, then 4 minutes at 100% power. Came out perfect!! I also had some left over for the next day and it was a little dry. So I added a tablespoon of water and microwave it for a min and came out perfect again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grvqn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
This Recipe was taken an adapted from a Restaurant Called Chevy's original recipe. Most people get confused with the Masa Harina. This is simply "Corn Flour" .. This Recipe is Great! Everyone should try it! Its the kind of thing that you'll have to make for a large group of people.. consider how often do you use Cornflour and Cornmeal in everyday cooking?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
GREAT! I have wanted a recipe for this for a long time. I have now made it three times: the first was the agonizing steam method. Then I wised up and used the microwave. A covered dish for 9-10 minutes on 90% gave me a great consistency. Wonderful recipe; my kids, including the 9-month-old, just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
Yummy, perfect for a mexican dinner! I tried the microwave method with wax paper over the top, a little too crumbly, a covered dish would work better to hold in the moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
This stuff is great!! Just like what they serve at Chevy's. I used canned corn instead of frozen and it worked just fine. It was a tad sweeter than I like, maybe due to the corn which was itself quite sweet. I'll cut the sugar down next time. I also think I'll cut the butter in half to make it a bit healthier. 5T seemed excessive. Overall a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
I halved the recipe and cooked it in the microwave using 7 mins at 30% then 4 mins at 100%, as suggested in another review. That overcooked it and made the tomalito really tough in pockets. Next time I'll make the full recipe. This recipe doesn't make enough to warrant halving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States