Sweet Corn Tomalito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
¡Fabuloso! I followed the recipe to a T, short of using the microwave method of cooking it (Thank you MCKARIN for the exact directions on that one). This recipe rocks! My whole family—even my 2&1/2 year old—gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyful_Mamma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Yum- never been to Chevy's but worked at Cheesecake Factory and these are very similar to their Sweet Corn Tamale Cakes. I have always made this in the microwave and it turns out everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I loved it. It reminded me and my husband of cornbread and he wants me to add jalapenos next time. I'm excited to have a new side dish for Mexican dishes other than rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
We usually double this and use the microwave directions. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha Shreffler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
This was excellent! I made it just as listed and everything turned out great. I did have to steam it a bit longer than an hour, but my pan was too big for my pot. Super easy and the best corn pudding I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Awesome. I followed the recipe to a T. I didn't use the microwave method as suggested by so many others. I put the tomalito in small casserole pans and put the pans in a larger baking pan filled a quarter of the way with water. The water at the bottom of the large pan helped steam the recipe. The recipe came out perfect. I added a touch of honey butter to the top. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Excellent Recipe. I cooked mine in the oven covered and had excellent results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Made a vegan version. Switched margarine to Earth Balance and used soy milk instead and I didn't tell people at the BBQ and they LOVED IT! I'm making it again tonight. Super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brendenj
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
This one is a winner! I followed others advice and did 7 minutes at 30% power and 3 minutes at 100% power while it was covered in saran wrap. My husband and kids gobbled it up. I mixed everything in a food processor, didn't waste time with extra bowls. Even added the baking powder etc. in the processor at the end and then just folded in the last of the corn. Hubby and kids thought there was too much extra corn, so the second time I chopped up 1.5 cups and folded in 0.5 cup. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
We cut the sugar to 1/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States