Sweet Corn Tomalito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe. I used butter instead of margarine and it turned out wonderful. Can't wait to make it again. Actually went to Chevy's last night and I liked mine (from this recipe) better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Quite delicious! My husband loves this at restaurants and this tasted just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This is the best recipe I have ever found for corn tomalito. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This was absolutely delicious. I served it as a side dish to Dr. Pepper Pork, a good braised pork recipe on the Pioneer Woman website (pork shoulder braised in chipotles w/adobo sauce, Dr. Pepper & brown sugar, 300* for 7 hours) and it was a wonderful contrast to the spicy pork burritos. Easy to make, even though I needed to use both my KA and my mini-processor (lots of cleanup!). The cornmeal mixture in the processor never did become "smooth" (I used a medium coarse cornmeal), but that made no difference. We all loved it, and I'll make it every time I do a Mexican or Tex-Mex dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Excellent! This has been my most desired recipe for a long time. I used to go to Chevy's just so I could have my Tomalito...Im sure some old employee gave this recipe away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PICHINGA2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Managua, Managua, Nicaragua
Living In: New Windsor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I was craving this tonight but the only cornmeal-like ingredient I had was some instant polenta. I put 4 Tbs butter, 1 c water, 1 c 2% mil, and 1/3 c sugar in a saucepan, brought it to a boil, and slowly mixed in 1/2 c polenta. Stir constantly over heat until it thickens, then let set in the pan for a few mins. Not as good as the real thing, but it definitely hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
My boyfriend has declared this his favorite food that I have ever made for him! I love it too. It does turn out sweet but we like it best when following the ingredients exactly as listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Our household was 50/50 on this. My son & I loved it and the others would've rather just had cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This stuff is phenomenal! My husband and I love Chevy's. We have always loved the tomalito they serve. I was so excited to find this recipe! One thing worth noting: I doubled the recipe amount and I had to steam it for an hour and a half. I also added about 3 teaspoons of cinnamon and it was delicious. I will for sure make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andi.love.84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sedro Woolley, Washington, USA
Living In: Graham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States