Sweet Corn Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I took some reviewers' advice and cut the butter and the sugar in half. The taste was good, but it turned out rather dry. Next time I'll use the full amount of butter and see what I get! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I do not know how to post a recipe other than this reply. Everyone will like what I am posting if you like this one. Box of spanish rice. . . cooked by box directions. . . add one bag of frozen corn, one bag of frozen chopped spinach, can of green chillies, cup of jack cheese with peppers, chicken broth enough to cook and keep consistency creamy. . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
It was amazing. But, next time I will cut down on the butter and sugar. I also used less frozen corn, just a handful is plenty. When I make this again for guests, I will cut fresh corn off the Cobb I think for better flavor. For me, I'll substitute Monk fruit sweetener for some of the sugar. But it was divine, just too fattening. I can sacrifice some of the taste, it was super rich and decadent, so no one will notice. I used half and half even, tasted better than reataurants' corn cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I have made this a number of times, and it's practically a Thanksgiving necessity with my family. I have found, however, that making the single batch can result in the cake being slightly dry. Make a double batch in one pan, and the problem is solved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Very easy, simple, tasty, have made it many times when making a mexican meal for friends or family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
My family loves this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I make this recipe again and again. My kids love it! My son and I are gluten free and this is a delicious recipe that uses no flour. We quadruple the recipe but half the sugar and use only 3/4 of the fat. (I've used oil and dairy free butter and they both work!) Definitely recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I LOVE the spoon bread at Don Pablos and this matches it! But I live on an island I can't always get all the ingredients. So, here's my "off the shelf" version". 2 packages Marie Calenders corn muffin mix, 2 eggs, 1 14.25 oz can sweet creamed corn, 1/4 cup melted sweet cream butter, a large "dollop" of sour cream (approx. 2 tbsp), and 3 tbsp honey. Mix it all together, pour into greased 8x8 pan and cover with foil. Place in water bath and bake for 50 minutes. Then sprinkle with shredded mild cheddar cheese and bake for 10 more minutes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
delicious. exactly what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Union City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
wondering-can you make this in the crockpot? I want to make a large amount (quadruple the recipe?) and need to keep it hot for a potluck this Saturday. Please advise! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 496) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States