Sweet Coconut Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2015
Okay, but not a strong coconut taste. Made this in my rice cooker. I used the stated amount of sugar. I found that if I added some sugar on my rice at the table it bought out the coconut taste more. Not a bad recipe by any means, but I would want to play with it some more to suite our tastes. My teen didn't like it at all. A lot leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Amazing! My boyfriend made this last night with caramelized baked chicken (another wonderful recipe on here). It went perfect with it! I loved the sweetness of this rice. It is the right amount of sweet. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xmyheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Great and easy to make and tastes great too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
EXCELLENT recipe - only thing I added was salt. I like sweet rice, so I used two tsp of sugar. Added the coconut just before serving and it was terrific. We served it as a side dish with BBQ brisket, steamed broccoli and a green salad. Will make it with chicken curry next time. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Delicious! I added a pinch of salt but otherwise didn't change a thing. The coconut flakes added some nice texture. I served it with fajitas that were pretty spicy and this rice added a nice cooling effect. Family loved it. Would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Fabulous! Just like in the restaurants. I used a rice cooker instead of stovetop and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This was reminiscent of rice pudding for me because of the creaminess. I used palm sugar because I don't cook with white sugar(personal preference). 1 tsp was enough. Shredded coconut added a welcomed texture. I'll make this again. Thanks Melucy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
We LOVED this! I only used the teaspoon of sugar called for b/c I didn't want it too sweet, and that was perfect, so if you want it SWEET def add more sugar. I liked the addition of the coconut sprinkled on top, which also gave some sweetness to the rice, so keep that in mind as well if you plan on using it. I added some salt, but that was per my own preference. Oh, and I used Jasmine rice, which was wonderful in this. I would def be making this again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States