Sweet Coated Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I made some changes as suggested by others (adding in vanilla and doing half sugar/half brown sugar) and they turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
These turned out really well! I was very surprised; I tried another recipe similar to this one once and was highly displeased with the results. I doubled the recipe (and doubled the cookie sheets) & used peanuts & cashews, because that's what I had. I used the already-salted-in-a-can kind & omitted the salt from the recipe. I used PAM spray to lubricate my pan & wished I had used butter--after a few times turning the nuts, the PAM spray was no longer functioning, and I think the butter would've been better. Still, if you're feeling fat-conscious, the PAM spray did work--I just had to peel the last 1/4 cup or so of nuts off the foil very carefully! Thanks for the recipe, it's going to make great gifts this year! (P.S. 1 lb peanuts = 3cups, 1 lb cashews = 4 cups)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Wish I'd seen the comments about usng 1/2/ and 1/2 brown sugar and some vanilla, that sounds good. But I followed the recipe as written and ust got done making 4 lbs. of them to put in little bags and pass out as gifts. They are yummy and super easy, and I'll definitely be making these again. Now, to keep myself from easting them all....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FishinWidow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Verona, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
These are excellent. I made this with whole almonds. My changes: I used 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar; only 1 T water; added a splash of vanilla; and the zest from 1/2 an orange. Very yummy. Try this, you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Easy and fabulous! Simply sweet, we will be making this again and again. The whole family loved them! I did brown sugar for a small part, maybe 1/4 c, of the sugar. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Wow! I am SO happy I found this recipe. Absolutely amazing. After reading other reviews I also used 1/2 cup of white sugar and 1/2 cup of brown sugar and also added about 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla. My husband and I can't stay away from them! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIEJUNKIE
Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I used other's reviews... I used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar and 1T of water and 1T vanilla extract. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
WOW! These are so delicious, just like the expensive ones you can buy and a great gift to give. I also used half & half brown/white sugar as others had recommended. I also lightly sprinkled them with cinnamon sugar after they had cooled for 15mins. Like they needed more sugar (!!), but I really think it improved on perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
These are excellent! If I had known how easy it was to make these I would have been doing it every year for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
These are the best coated pecans I've ever had! light, crunchy and absolutely yummy! Couple tips I've got: 1. make sure you stir the egg/water till very foaming before you soak in the pecans, this will make the coating super crunchy and 'fluffy'; 2. don't pour any of your residual syrup in - that creates some sugar chunks; 3. I may try throwing in handful toasted sesame for the coating next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Coated Pecans

See how to make the perfect sweet snack.

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States