Sweet Coated Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I used other's reviews... I used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar and 1T of water and 1T vanilla extract. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Montero

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
WOW! These are so delicious, just like the expensive ones you can buy and a great gift to give. I also used half & half brown/white sugar as others had recommended. I also lightly sprinkled them with cinnamon sugar after they had cooled for 15mins. Like they needed more sugar (!!), but I really think it improved on perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
These are excellent! If I had known how easy it was to make these I would have been doing it every year for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
These are the best coated pecans I've ever had! light, crunchy and absolutely yummy! Couple tips I've got: 1. make sure you stir the egg/water till very foaming before you soak in the pecans, this will make the coating super crunchy and 'fluffy'; 2. don't pour any of your residual syrup in - that creates some sugar chunks; 3. I may try throwing in handful toasted sesame for the coating next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
These are awesome! I made the recommended changes (vanilla instead of water, 1/2 white 1/2 brown sugar. I can't imagine how this could be improved. I think my family has gained 10lbs in the last week eating them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JENNY23315
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
YUM! This turned out great! A month ago, I had never tried a pecan in my entire life, until we went to a holiday bizarre and a woman gave me a sample of a candied pecan. It was so good, that I wanted to find a similar recipe to make myself. This is it. Fantastic. I took other reviewers' advice and used 1/2 cup of white sugar and 1/2 cup of brown sugar, and substituted vanilla extract in place of the water. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY23315

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Poulsbo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Couldn't be an easier recipe. Similar to others, I lined the baking sheet with aluminum foil and lightly buttered it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I adapted this recipe to make a slightly different presentation: I double everything except the nuts and bake it on a tray (covered in greased foil for easy cleanup). This way you end up with an almost meringue-like square full of nuts. I also sub vanilla for water, add a dash of orange extract (for holiday flavour) and do half white half brown sugar. I realise this sounds like I changed the recipe completely, but really they're just small differences. The original mix has perfect proportions and cooks perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jenny
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
These tasted so delicious and looked awesome!!! I used 2 tbs of vanilla instead of water, 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Loved these!!! I also followed other reviews and used 1 tbs vanilla instead of water. Next time i will try using 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar. I will definitely be making these again! It was so easy to do!! UPDATE: I made this again using 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar and used almonds instead of pecans. I couldn't really tell the difference with the brown sugar (it's still delicious!) The almonds were yummy too. Either way, I love this recipe and will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Coated Pecans

See how to make the perfect sweet snack.

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States