Sweet Chili Thai Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
Dipping sauce more than "pouring" sauce but can be thickened with more cornstarch. Nice to not have all those additives in there too, compared to the store bought ones. If your chile peppers are very hot, the sauce will be too. Mine is just bit too hot for me, but great for DH, I used three small very hot peppers - two of them without the seeds - and one larger, milder one, with the seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by France

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Fremantle, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
BEST SAUCE EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Awesome!! I had been so afraid to try something with chile peppers -- no more! I cut it to 6 servings (there's only 2 of us here) used about 2 t *dried* chile peppers (altho it could be way more), and put way more ginger and garlic (maybe that's why it wasn't too sweet for me) and, yes, more cornstarch, and a big squirt of corn syrup. mmmmm! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
I made this because it was mentioned in the thai chicken balls recipe and now I can't imagine them without it! I like things really spicy so next time I'll use extra peppers. Delicious over steamed brown rice with the meatballs and a little red chili paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
This sauce is delicious and I used in my recipe for sweet chili crispy chicken and it was So GOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It tastes like the sauce they use in chinese restuarants for sweet spicy dishes, Just Excellent!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
This sauce is excellent. We are going to use a bit less sugar next time. Also, we added more cornstarch as it didn't thicken to our liking (we actually doubled the amount!). Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Excellent sauce, easy to make and versatile. Dipped lemgrass chicken eggrolls into it, and used it as a sauce for fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
We live in a small town & I ran out of the bottled chili sauce we use on our egg rolls, so I found this and made it. It was super EASY and perfect...better than the bottled!! Will make again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
Cut the sugar down like the other recommendation. Wonderful tasty sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I impressed family and freinds with this recipe, and everyone loves it. Just like you get in the Chinese. It did take me a couple of practices to get it just right though. Well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKLYSCOTTY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States