Sweet Chili Thai Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
This sauce is excellent. We are going to use a bit less sugar next time. Also, we added more cornstarch as it didn't thicken to our liking (we actually doubled the amount!). Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
4 Stars because of minor adjustments needed, here's how I made it 5 STAR: 1-Cut the sugar down (almost in half) 2-Double the Cornstarch (mix it with a little cold water before adding to avoid clumping) 3-I used hot chili oil instead of a fresh pepper, 4-I was out of fresh ginger, used ginger powder instead. Enjoying this dip paired with veggie spring rolls even as I type the review; very delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shaunda

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
I really like this recipe except I agree the sugar is just WAY too much. I cut it in half and that was enough for my taste! Also, be careful of how you add the cornstarch to avoid lumps! Taste of dip is great...oh..add more cornstarch if you want a dip not a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
Dipping sauce more than "pouring" sauce but can be thickened with more cornstarch. Nice to not have all those additives in there too, compared to the store bought ones. If your chile peppers are very hot, the sauce will be too. Mine is just bit too hot for me, but great for DH, I used three small very hot peppers - two of them without the seeds - and one larger, milder one, with the seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by France

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Fremantle, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
i scaled this down to 6 also but wish i would have scaled it down to 12 instead and frozen some of it. i took the suggestions of the reviewers and halved the sugar and doubled the cornstarch. served it w/ homemade deep fried wontons. i think w/ all of the sugar it would be a great homemade sweet and sour sauce for eggrolls. thanks for such an easy recipe w/ ingredients i already had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Whatever you do, follow the other reviewers' advice and cut the sugar WAY back. I didn't, and ended up throwing it away because it was virtually inedible. The second time, I just added Splenda til it was as sweet as I wanted. I also find that mixing cornstarch with a little water helps to eliminate any lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
We live in a small town & I ran out of the bottled chili sauce we use on our egg rolls, so I found this and made it. It was super EASY and perfect...better than the bottled!! Will make again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
BEST SAUCE EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
I made this because it was mentioned in the thai chicken balls recipe and now I can't imagine them without it! I like things really spicy so next time I'll use extra peppers. Delicious over steamed brown rice with the meatballs and a little red chili paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This sauce is great! I didn't have fresh ginger or garlic cloves on hand so I used sushi ginger and pre-minced garlic. I didn't have chili peppers either so I used chili powder and red pepper flakes. I halved the sugar and doubled the cornstarch like others suggested. The sauce tastes great with my Curry chicken thighs and coconut rice. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHLINDZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States