Sweet Chili Thai Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Very good flavor! Was a little thin so I added more corn starch. Had great spice (serrano pepper) and perfect sweetness (used recommended amount). LOVE THIS SAUCE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Awesome!! I had been so afraid to try something with chile peppers -- no more! I cut it to 6 servings (there's only 2 of us here) used about 2 t *dried* chile peppers (altho it could be way more), and put way more ginger and garlic (maybe that's why it wasn't too sweet for me) and, yes, more cornstarch, and a big squirt of corn syrup. mmmmm! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I thought this was pretty good with a bit of tweaking, but extremely sweet. I cut the sugar in half and doubled the corn starch. Next time, I'll cut the sugar more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
This was so good. As good as the "prepared" type at the grocer. I halved this recipe and used prepared ginger and chili paste. It was excellent with the turkey and shrimp egg rolls, fried pork won tons, and crab Rangoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Greenbrier, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
YUM! I loved this sauce. I didn't cut back the sugar, but didn't mind how sweet it is. I also didn't have the minced chili pepper and added powdered chili pepper instead. Mine tasted more like a plum/sweet & sour sauce. Still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portage, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WannaBeChef
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I started out with half the water and the 1 cup of vinegar. I used powdered garlic and ginger. I used about a teaspoon of each. I added a 1/4 teaspoon of red pepper flakes. I also added an extra teaspoon of ketchup. I started out with a 1/4 of a cup of sugar, taking others advice to cut back on it. From there I added another 1/4 up and another, I still didn't find it sweet enough, I added more by the teaspoon after that, and tasting after each addition, just as I did with the 1/4 cups. After I got the taste, I used the other 1/2 cup of water and added 2 heaping tablespoons of cornstartch. I tasted the sauce one last time, then stuck it in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannaBeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
A fun recipe. Very pungent when you start marking it, recommend a well ventilated area! I followed the advice of previous posters and used about half the sugar. Was delicious. Probably going to use a hotter pepper next time though as it lacked the kick I preffer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
BEST SAUCE EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I impressed family and freinds with this recipe, and everyone loves it. Just like you get in the Chinese. It did take me a couple of practices to get it just right though. Well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKLYSCOTTY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
My husband liked it. I did not care for it too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brawley, California, USA
Living In: La Jolla, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States