Sweet Chili Thai Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
This was amazing. I didn't have a hot chili to dice so I used tabasco in it's place. This taste just like the Thai sauce that Presidents Choice bottles. We had it with a Thai meal and the leftover was sitting on the table. Later, roasted chicken potato chips were dipped in it. Also amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Two teaspoons of red chilli pepper is too hot. Thank god for the 1 cup of sugar to balance it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
i scaled this down to 6 also but wish i would have scaled it down to 12 instead and frozen some of it. i took the suggestions of the reviewers and halved the sugar and doubled the cornstarch. served it w/ homemade deep fried wontons. i think w/ all of the sugar it would be a great homemade sweet and sour sauce for eggrolls. thanks for such an easy recipe w/ ingredients i already had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Very good flavor! Was a little thin so I added more corn starch. Had great spice (serrano pepper) and perfect sweetness (used recommended amount). LOVE THIS SAUCE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Awesome!! I had been so afraid to try something with chile peppers -- no more! I cut it to 6 servings (there's only 2 of us here) used about 2 t *dried* chile peppers (altho it could be way more), and put way more ginger and garlic (maybe that's why it wasn't too sweet for me) and, yes, more cornstarch, and a big squirt of corn syrup. mmmmm! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I thought this was pretty good with a bit of tweaking, but extremely sweet. I cut the sugar in half and doubled the corn starch. Next time, I'll cut the sugar more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
This was so good. As good as the "prepared" type at the grocer. I halved this recipe and used prepared ginger and chili paste. It was excellent with the turkey and shrimp egg rolls, fried pork won tons, and crab Rangoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Greenbrier, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
YUM! I loved this sauce. I didn't cut back the sugar, but didn't mind how sweet it is. I also didn't have the minced chili pepper and added powdered chili pepper instead. Mine tasted more like a plum/sweet & sour sauce. Still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portage, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WannaBeChef
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I started out with half the water and the 1 cup of vinegar. I used powdered garlic and ginger. I used about a teaspoon of each. I added a 1/4 teaspoon of red pepper flakes. I also added an extra teaspoon of ketchup. I started out with a 1/4 of a cup of sugar, taking others advice to cut back on it. From there I added another 1/4 up and another, I still didn't find it sweet enough, I added more by the teaspoon after that, and tasting after each addition, just as I did with the 1/4 cups. After I got the taste, I used the other 1/2 cup of water and added 2 heaping tablespoons of cornstartch. I tasted the sauce one last time, then stuck it in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannaBeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States