Sweet Chili Thai Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I love the flavour of this recipe. Because I don't eat refined sugar, I substituted honey for the sugar and used sugar free ketchup. I also used 1 tsp. ginger powder as I didn't have fresh on hand. To thicken it, I mixed 3 Tbsp. water with 2 Tbsp. cornstarch and added to the mixture after it came to a boil. For thicker sauce, just keep adding that mixture until you like the consistency. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JacquiB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This sauce is awesome! I made it for a party with small pieces of chicken and two other sauces. Everyone raved it! I mixed the leftovers with stir fry veggies and chicken, and it was so good! I did halve the sugar and double the cornstarch. It was sweet but def. spicy! I didn't use peppers, but a tsp. of chile (rooster) sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
awesome! I made this to enjoy as a dipping sauce for some pork pot stickers I had previously frozen- excellent taste, just right amount of everything. I will go ahead & add a little more hot chili sauce next time for a little more zip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockinRob

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Stuyvesant, New York, USA
Living In: West Sand Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Decrease the first three ingredients by half and keep the rest of the measurements the same and this will turn out great. I use powdered ginger and tapatio instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAILORMOON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
4 Stars because of minor adjustments needed, here's how I made it 5 STAR: 1-Cut the sugar down (almost in half) 2-Double the Cornstarch (mix it with a little cold water before adding to avoid clumping) 3-I used hot chili oil instead of a fresh pepper, 4-I was out of fresh ginger, used ginger powder instead. Enjoying this dip paired with veggie spring rolls even as I type the review; very delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shaunda

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
so easy and sooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This is the exact sauce that the Thai takeouts have!! I used siracha chili sauce instead of the chilis, and it is amazing! We have some left and are looking for something to dip in it.. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This sauce is close to the sweet chili sauce that all the restaurants put on their wings. I did do as others mentioned, and doubled the cornstarch (which I mixed with a little cold water first to eliminate lumps). Next time I am going to also reduce the sugar a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
WOW! this is great! I served this with Vietnamese meatballs, and it made the meal. I thought the sweet complimented the sauce perfectly. I used Red Rooster chili pepper sauce (a staple in our house) and this recipe is going to be a keeper! I think it will be great with egg rolls and spring rolls, too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn Cotter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
This was amazing. I didn't have a hot chili to dice so I used tabasco in it's place. This taste just like the Thai sauce that Presidents Choice bottles. We had it with a Thai meal and the leftover was sitting on the table. Later, roasted chicken potato chips were dipped in it. Also amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States