Sweet Chili Thai Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I gave this 4/5 stars because it is a good recipe for this sauce as it provides key ingredients and a good procedure to follow. However, I did follow other reviewers' comments; so, I cut the sugar down to 1/3 cup and added about 1.5 tsp more of corn starch to get it to a consistency I preferred. Furthermore, I did not have any ginger, so I added about less than half a spoonful of minced garlic (I'm a garlic lover) and about 1/2 a teaspoon of lemon juice. It turned out to be quite delicious to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AhhriasTSP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Great Recipe! We cant buy Sweet Chilli Sauce here in our part of Europe and i miss it immensely when eating Wedges! I used Apple Cidar Vinegar as we dont get Rice Vinegar either. Halved the Sugar as others said. I also added some more Ketchup, doubled the Cornflour and added some sweet Paprika powder. I tasted it throughout and think that the Ginger is a little overpowering! Thats why i added more Ketchup/Paprika. Great Substitute though! Thanks muchly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Absolutely fabulous!!! We really enjoyed it! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Very good. I just should have thickened it a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
everyone really liked it, although i added the corn starch too early. so i look forward to trying it the right way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I used a couple chopped tomatoes (i blanched them to remove the skin first) instead of ketchup. This is a good sauce! In the future, i think I would reduce the amount of rice vinegar to 3/4cup and use 1/2 cup or less of honey instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Do not add cornstarch directly into any hot liquid. It will quickly turn into a gooey lumpy mess. Add enough water and stir to dissolve the required amount of cornstarch. Whisk while it's being added and there shouldn't be any lumps. I made a few Chinese dishes for New Year's dinner and made some different sauces for variety. I found the vinegar overpowering. The base flavour of this sauce was good enough that I may have another go, adjusting the amount of vinegar. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Wonderful recipe! I can't begin to tell you how good this is. I served it as a dipping sauce for coconut chicken and everyone raved about it. Only thing I did different was cut the sugar in half (to 1/2 cup) and added about 1/2 cup fresh honey. To die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
It's more like a sweet & sour with so much vinegar than a commercial style Thai sweet chili sauce. If you're used to Mae Ploy or similar then this one will be tangier. Not a bad thing, just different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sedgwick, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This is the best and easiest Thai sauce I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States