Sweet Chili Thai Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I substituted spicy coconut vinegar for half of the vinegar, and omitted the chili. (I know, how can you have Thai sweet chili sauce without chili, but I love coconut vinegar so much that I don't care.) And I thickened it with tapioca starch instead of corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Awesome recipe! Great base sauce for other Asian dishes. I cut the sugar in half and added mango. I plan on trying the same trick with pineapple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I made the mistake of going straight off the recipe and skipped the reviews. I was really looking forward to this as I just finished a batch of fresh wontons. I was more than disappointed that the sauce did not get thick at all. I doubled, then tripled the corn starch and it still was runny. I ended up scraping the entire thing. The flavor would have been ok for me but I will look for a different recipe now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sindi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
very easy and better than any bottled sweet chili sauce I could have bought
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Tastes just like muy poy. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I used this sauce on a copy cat recipe for Thai Dye pizza from the Mellow Mushroom restaurant. the pizza came out good the sauce itself was ok. I was looking for a very specific taste, and this was not quite it. the sauce itself was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This is absolutely delicious! I took the advice of the other reviewers and cut the sugar in half. I didn't have rice vinegar so I used white, it was a huge hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I used about 2/3 cup sugar and, of course, added the cornstarch mixed with a little water. The second time I had to use a mixture of rice vinegar and cider vinegar. Both times I made it, it was a hit. Thanks for a great alternative to the bottled variety!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
No need for store bought thai sauce any longer! This is absolutely perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I was trying to recreate a dipping sauce with the same name from the grocery store. I wondered about the large quantity of rice vinegar in the recipe, but still used that amount. I wish I hadn't. My husband said it was very potent, and after reading the ingredients on the store bought brand, it didn't have vinegar in it at all. Next time I will cut the vinegar to probably 1/4 cup and see how that tastes. Also, I had to add about twice the amount of ketchup to get it the right taste and color. I will have to use this as a base recipe and play around with it to get it to our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States