Sweet Chili Lime Chicken with Cilantro Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This was a wonderful recipe!!! I did not have couscous on hand so I used a farro recipe instead. (Jenni's Italian Farro Pilaf) Which was also wonderful. The only thing I did differently was put about a tablespoon of fresh cilantro, two garlic pressed cloves and more red pepper flakes. Awesome flavor!!!! My family loved it!!!The chicken came out so moist and tender, it was not dry. I will definitely add to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Excellent! Next time I will add some fresh veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I thought this recipe was excellent! I made a few minor modifications: I marinated the chicken for 20 minutes in a 1 tablespoon dry sherry, 1 tablespoon of soy sauce and a clove of garlic (minced). I also added garlic powder to the sauce and omitted the MSG. I wanted to add a vegetable so I steamed broccoli and mixed it in when I added the sauce to the cooked chicken. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This recipe is fantastic. We made some small substitutions, but only to make it gluten free. We changed the couscous to quinoa, and cooked it to the directions on the box, but still using the broth. We also made sure to use GF soya sauce. We also increased the chilli flakes to 1 tbsp, since we like our food with a bit of a kick. All in all, great dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I made this for dinner last night and we loved it! Definitely a new addition to the regular rotation. I didn't have MSG so I used salt and pepper. I also used skinless, boneless chicken thighs instead of breasts. I s&p'd the chicken thighs, browned them over med. high heat in the olive oil til they were cooked through then moved them to a plate. Mix the soy, brown sugar, lime juice and zest and a dash of ground red chile pepper instead of crushed red pepper and add to the skillet, scraping any tasty bits from the bottom. Added the chicken back in after the sauce had slightly reduced and allowed the chicken to warm back up a bit basting with the sauce. Also made the couscous using homemade chicken stock some dried cilantro (had it on hand already) and 2 cloves "microplaned" (or finely chopped) garlic. Do yourself a favor and don't forget the fresh lime wedges when serving, they give such a fresh, bright flavor to the chicken. This is such a flavorful dish! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
This sauce is a perfect combination of salty, sweet, tangy and spicy. The lime juice and zest really gave the dish bright flavor. The only changes I made were as follows: 1) I added a little more red pepper flakes (personal preference); 2) I added a pinch of kosher salt and ground black pepper to the chicken while it cooked (I don't use MSG); 3) I used basmati rice instead of couscous as that is what I had in my pantry, and I cooked it in chicken stock instead of vegetable broth. The next time I make this, and I most definitely will, I will cut the chicken breasts into strips instead of chunks, because while the chunks make for a prettier presentation, strips will cook quicker. I will also make a point to get vegetable broth and couscous. Thanks for this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
The lime was a bit too strong and it became way too salty as it reduced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Followed the recipe perfectly and it's AWESOME. Simple and soo good. I did have sliced Red Bell Pepper and buttered French bread on the side. This is very, very good and so easy and quick to make. Bon Appetit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Very yummy dish! I ended up cooking the couscous in just water with a pinch of salt and a teaspoon of oil. The chicken glaze provides the main punch of flavor without having to use broth for the couscous. I didn't simmer the glaze for as long, so it was more liquidy. It ran into the couscous and flavored it as well as the chicken. No need to add the MSG. Tastes great without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Chili Lime Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a quick, flavorful marinade for grilled chicken kabobs.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States