Sweet Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Amazing! ... If you like the sweeter version of classic challah. After all, who doesn't like the sound of more sugar? But if I could change one thing, don't let it rise too long otherwise the bread will lose its shape and turn into a blob of dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Tastes really good. I'm not very adept at braiding limp dough, so it looked odd. It does freeze well, though, so you could make it up ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Used a lot less flour, maybe 2 1/2 cups less, just couldn't work it all in. Delicious, sweet, fairly easy to make! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Wonderfully sweet and fluffy. I added raisins soaked in brandy and it was the perfect yom teruah bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
This bread is great and my family can't get enough! The instructions on braiding are very helpful and the bread comes out golden and beautiful every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly Towne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This is good one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Really great rich, sweet challah. I used canola oil, and it was wonderful, when I used olive oil it didn't come out as good. Add chocolate chips for some variety
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I used my KitchenAid Mixer with the dough hook attachment to make this dough. I ended up using a ton more flour than the recipe stated-- the dough was very sticky. I also added honey to the dough and to the glaze. This gave me 4 challahs, so I froze two of the loaves for next week! enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
The recipe was outlined perfectly! (i'm not a huge bread maker and she described consistancy to perfection) my dough didn't double in size but it was a very nice dough to work with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I made this challah for the holidays and it was a big hit with my family! I should mention that I rarely make challah because it never really comes out well for me and seems like a lot of effort for poor results. But this challah wasn't hard to make and came out exactly as I like it- firm and sweet! The family ignored the store bought challah and devoured this one! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States