Sweet Candied Orange and Lemon Peel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
My son asked me how and where did I find the recipe? they were very good and lasted and lasted - till they were gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhoby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I wasn't sure if I was supposed to peel the lemons and oranges (like you would do if you were going to eat it whole), and then cut the peel into strips (with the white pith included), so I read the reviews and took the suggestion of others and used a vegetable peeler, getting only the colored part and as little of the pith as possible. I used the peel of 1 lemon, 1 orange and 1 lime and cut the sugar and water in half. Worked great! After draining them, I let them dry slightly on waxed paper, then sprinkled with the additional sugar. My daughter used these to top a "Rosca de Reyes" cake that she made for her Spanish class, and I we ate the rest like candy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Loved it! Only wish drying time would be shorter! I think it will be quicker next time around! Any other suggestions for quicker drying? Enjoy! Lovely little gifts too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
My mom used to make something like these when I was a kid. Got very excited to find this recipe. They were ok but not what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I save the water from the first step and use it in step two. At the end I save the sweetened water and mix it with the water from candying ginger as the basis for a simple syrup for drinks too make home-made "lemoncello"/"orangecello" or for drinks. Flavour is flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I made mine with tangerine peels. Don't know if that makes a difference but mine were a bit on the bitter side. I scraped off the white pith before I cooked the peels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pinhais, Paraná, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I did the boil, drain and rinse 3 times and used the orange peel only, pith included. I didn't have a candy thermometer and was making these with a serious sinus infection and migraine so to keep it simple I added the orange peel to th syrup just when I saw the sugar disappear. Also, I peeled the fruit as usual, in a spiral. After the last blanch I used a pair of kitchen shears to make the smaller pieces while waiting for the sugar water to be ready. I've not finished yet but so far so good! @Skunkee from 2011: I wonder if you actually changed the water ir just allowed it to cool before bringing it back to a boil. That would just make the peels even MORE bitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I tried this recipe.. I just used the orange part because that's what I need. I followed the recipe that is given minus the lemon. I did some research an boiled the rind for 20 minutes like it says too, then drained them. I removed the pith from the rinds an followed the recipe the rest of way.. Drain after being in simple syrup.. Saved it.. for tea etc.. While still warm put them in sugar. I didn't have a problem with this an now they sit a dry. Tasted it an they are fine. I would recommend this recipe after doing some extensive research..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CASEYHUE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Didn't work for me at all. Don't know what I did wrong. Was very bitter and nasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This was good, but the recipe called "Candied Citrus Peel" was better. Changing the water a few times really cuts the bitterness in any remaining pith, and makes the peel more translucent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States